We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, So-So Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of County Line BBQ

County Line BBQ
Ranked #206 of 3,684 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There are 2 near Austin. The one I visited is called "on the lake" vs "on the hill".
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, So-So Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This County Line sinks on the banks of a stream, so the setting is idyllic. The lazy river charm just calls for down home food. The County Line menu would seem to deliver, but the food itself lacks any particular appeal. The barbecue sauce was somewhere between sweet and spicy, but without enough oomph in either direction to make it specific. I had their chicken which was just short of dry. The potato salad had a homemade sense but some commercial tastes, too; again, it wasn't decidedly anything. The best part of the meal was the bread, which you pay a little extra for. It's a sweet honey wheat that they make on premises. Sitting on the back porch with a loaf or two of the bread, maybe a beer to go with it, and watching the river flow by would make for a great time. The rest of the food's okay if you're hungry but doesn't really add much to the time you spend there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abqactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    56
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“BBQ okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were told this was one of the best BBQ places in Austin, but it really wasn't much different than the standard fare we get in New England. It was tasty, but not extraordinary. Good service, tasty side dishes.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

County Line BBQ serves great food in huge portions at great price! The views of Bull Creek are breathtaking. It's a nature lovers paradise. From the patio overlooking the dock, you will be entertained by a variety of turtles, fish and ducks. Had the opportunity to meet some nice folks from the area who came by boat and docked right at the restaurant. So cool!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen17Dayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

County Line is an old favorite loved by many. The BBQ is good as are the prices. We prefer Southside in Elgin (great BBQ) or even Rudy's for good BBQ.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Talon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Upscale BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

OK, truth be told we'd prefer picking our ribs off the pit in a little hill country town but this place is just a couple of miles from home so we haul all the out of town visitor here instead. We've also used County Line for catering - picking up tubs of brisket, sausage and the fixings for eating by the pool. Either way its a very satisfying meal. Youger kids like to feed the turtles while their parents imbibe on the back deck. Try to save room for home made cobbler and don't forget the warm bread.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Line BBQ also viewed

 

Been to County Line BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing