We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brava - My Texas Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2006

This place does it right. I was on a 3-day business trip and was blown away by the Fitzgerald room. Classic Eastlake touches galore and great amenities. The location is perfect to be away from the noise and hustle of downtown, however you are not far from downtown at all. Robin is very nice and ever so helpful so don't worry about a thing. The key is waiting for you whenever you show up, like me at 11:00 PM. Breakfast on the front porch with the paper - great stuff.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank srynecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 364 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
champaign, il
12
Reviewed April 25, 2006

the house: gorgeous.
the hostess: friendly but not too obtrusive.
the meals: light and well prepared
the coffee: dark & good
the suite: intimate, beautifully appointed and homey.

everything was lovely. even with 2 smokers in the room, we were happy it was a non-smoking room. lovely patio out back, off-street parking, bus stop 250 feet from the front door.

robin made our stay lovely by suggesting restaurants, taverns, activities, and even how to get to the airport for 50 cents. she wasn't meddling or overly engaging, but made herself very approachable.

the brava house is a casual, laid back & comfortable place to be.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

This wonderful, elegant Victorian house is a gem. My wife and I and our son and his girlfriend stayed there for a weekend. The rooms are large, wonderfully decorated with great furniture.....great porch.....wonderful breakfast.....highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank photodirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, NY
11
Reviewed April 17, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Brava House b&b in Austin Texas for 3 nights. We knew we loved it as soon as we arrived, walking through the back yard with the gorgeous deck and the small, lovely fish pond - we couldn't ask for anything better, especially after looking for something different from your average, generic boring hotel - a concept we do not like at all. It felt like home, and falling in love with Austin definitely had a lot to do with our choice of where we stayed. We loved our room's layout and feel (the Van Gogh room) the bed was pretty comfortable and the shower had really nice water pressure. My wife is 7 months pregnant and comfort was very importat for us. Robin, the B&B owner, was simply wonderful - she made really great (tasty and nutritious) breakfasts with great selections, and which changed daily. We were eating them on the deck in the back or on the front porch. They were also very helpful with information about places to see and things to do. All of Robin's restaurant recommendations were just on the money. One of the things we really enjoyed doing was to walk around the neighborhood - it is such a wonderful, safe and inviting neighborhood that we kept strolling around every day when we came back from our travels around Austin, even very late at night. We will definitely stay at the Brava House again next time we are in Austin - we are true fans!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

My family stayed in the Fitzgerald Suite for the weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful, tranquil environment and the delicious breakfasts both mornings. I hope to come back very soon!

Stayed: March 2006
1  Thank 1ChileGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stuart Bernstein
11
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Clean, comfortable, and the most accommodating hosts of any hotel, motel, B&B I've ever stayed at. The breakfasts were extraordinary, the location excellent, and unlike many B&B's, our room had a private entrance, so we never felt like we were disturbing anyone. Robin and Mary have got to be two of the friendliest, sweetest, loveliest ladies in Austin. This was worth every penny and more. Skip the big hotels downtown and stay here. We came for a conference and my colleagues who visited us--all of whom were staying at the hotels downtown--said they wished they'd stayed at Brava House.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Haslett, Michigan
11
Reviewed March 11, 2006

The location alone is enough to sell the B&B. However, the tasteful decorum, tasty breakfast, and kind hostess make it a step above. We will definitely return (if we don't move to Austin ourselves).

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,234 reviews
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,039 reviews
The Fairview
#2 of 36 in Austin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#1 of 36 in Austin
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brava House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Address: 1108 Blanco St, Austin, TX 78703-4920 (Formerly Southard House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $99 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brava House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's only downtown B&B nestled in a quiet historic neighborhood boasting some of the best walking in town. Surrounded by restaurants and shopping, Brava house offers the best of both worlds: quiet serenity, in the heart of all Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Brava House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava House b&b
Brava House Bed And Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing