We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the Best Place in Austin for ACL Fest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still the Best Place in Austin for ACL Fest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here for 9 years now. We can walk to everything we need and Mary and Robin always have good suggestions for things to do in and around Austin. The rooms are comfortable and well kept and there is off street parking if you have a car. We originally started coming for the festival but have extended our stay of the years to explore more of Austin and the surrounding area. We consider Brava House our Texas home.

Room Tip: We like the Casablanca room. It has a nice sitting area and lots of windows to let in light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    57
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
34
149
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you like being away from hordes of tourists and in a pretty, residential area with beautiful old homes (like the Brava House) then this is the spot for you. We really loved the location and walked everywhere: restaurants, bars, coffee shops, UT for the art museum, etc. We did have a car since we had to get to some out of the way places, so having off-street parking was a definite plus. We stayed in the Casablanca room - windows on three sides let in plenty of sunlight, yet the trees kept it private. I loved that there was a small sitting area with sofa, coffee table, TV - more comfortable than having to sit on a bed all weekend.

We enjoyed chatting with our hosts and other guests about Austin and other travels over breakfast (love the breakfast taco!) every morning. Isn't that why we stay at B&Bs? My only regret is not having time to enjoy the beautiful patio area (we had great weather) but since we were in town for a wedding, we had way too much running around to do. We would definitely stay at the Brava House again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YankyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the fourth time that we have stayed at Brava House as we like to go down to the ACL Festival every year. Robin and Mary really go out of their way to may you feel comfortable. We have stayed in the Gatsby Room, the Casablanca Room and the Van Gogh Room. All rooms were clean, functional and very comfortable. We love the neighborhood and find it very relaxing. The food is always well prepared and delicious--the hot cereal is excellent. We look forward to returning.
R and B Forrest - Canada

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in the Monroe suite, which was lovely - It is very spacious and clean and was much more charming than their website pictures show. The tempurpedic mattress was nice. The place is in a great location, the only downside was the breakfast. It was uncomfortable as there was only a small amount of food out - it felt like we were taking the last of everything. The owner said she likes to put food out as people come down to eat so things stay hot/cold, but it felt skimpy and lacked protein. After reading the reviews, I'm seeing that the weekend breakfast is different than the weekday breakfast, which is annoying. The owner was not very willing to make breakfast accommodations for another guest trying to make plans to depart early the next day. The food service was just not as welcoming as we are accustomed to at a B&B.

Room Tip: Monroe suite is like your own apartment! Very cute and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cryysta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay in Austin and staying at the Brava House made it extra special. Robin and Mary are so fun and friendly, going out of their way to make sure we had a great time in their city. Breakfast was great. Beautiful deck to visit with other guests and very pleasant room. Our time in Austin was wonderful! Thank you Robin and Mary!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaB5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Robin & Mary are absolutely the best! My partner and I travel several times throughout the year and love staying in B&B's versus hotels. These ladies in true form made us feel as if we never left our home in Atlanta. We felt like family from the minute we hung up the phone from making our reservations. The breakfast in the mornings were special and tasteful. We will be back next year for certain. Thank you again for your hospitality Robin & Mary!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyCamrenRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having stayed at Brava House in October, 2012 and June, 2010, we were expecting our recent visit to be outstanding, and it certainly was. Everything was done to provide a comfortable and welcome stay in Austin. Breakfast was a treat; different each morning. Actually, we reserved the Fitzgerald Suite before making airline arrangements, making our trip plan around the availability of a place at Brava House. The neighborhood is quiet and convenient, an easy walk to great restaurants. The guide book provided by the hosts is "right on." Even better, the personal restaurant recommendations were totally reliable. Austin is a wonderful city for visitors, and Brava House is the ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: Fitzgerald Suite is very comfortable for two people and adequate for three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosedhu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 199 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
1.0 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 199 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brava House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 1108 Blanco St, Austin, TX 78703-4920 (Formerly Southard House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brava House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's only downtown B&B nestled in a quiet historic neighborhood boasting some of the best walking in town. Surrounded by restaurants and shopping, Brava house offers the best of both worlds: quiet serenity, in the heart of all Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Brava House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava House Bed And Hotel Austin
Brava House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing