We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austin ambiance - weird and wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holiday, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Austin ambiance - weird and wonderful”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My partner and I spent a week at Brava House and couldn't have been happier. Was his first Austin visit and my return after a 30 year absence. This beautiful house really felt like home for us - comfortable, quiet, convenient walking distance to many great shops (Waterloo Music, the Book People, Whole Foods, and Whole Earth Provisions) and restaurants (we especially liked Lucy's, Z-Tejas and 24 Diner). Robin makes awesome blueberry muffins and has lots of suggestions for the best local attractions - both food and music. We stayed in the Garbo suite which was perfect for Jeff (at 6'4" he enjoyed the high ceilings and large bed) and was so comfortable and serene that we didn't mind staying in for a long rainy Saturday. Only thing we would have changed was extending our stay for another week. We'll be back.

Room Tip: For a longer stay, I would highly recommend the Garbo suite - just like having your own little house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    61
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
38
153
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Location, location, location! In quiet, pretty neighborhood in the heart of Austin. Relaxing atmosphere with a bit more privacy than other b&b's. Owner is friendly, very knowledgable of city and full of great recommendations. Van Gogh room was comfortable and perfect for a couple. Only complaints: full breakfast on weekends could offer more variety and towels in room had mildew odor. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JReneeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We loved this house. It's in a brilliant location within walking distance of 6th street. Our hosts have a wealth of knowledge of where to eat, what music venues to go to and where to chill out.Nothing was too much trouble for them and to stay somewhere home from home and get to know the feel of the city and all it has to offer we would highly recommend this B&B. The room, and garden to relax we're all added bonuses after a day exploring the city.
Highly recommend staying here
Barbara and Jim

Room Tip: Stayed in Van Gough which was at ground level and opened to the courtyard. Great for wheel chair ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed two nights at the end of April. The owners are awesome, full are suggestions to have a great stay. The Monroe room was much more than we expected. Beautiful hardwood floors, antique touches, full kitchen, large apartment-like space, extremely comfortable and well maintained. The location is fantastic for having an adventurous vacation. We walked easily to the downtown area, it's close to great restaurants and cafes, and we got around very easily on bikes and on foot. The property is inviting and although the inn is close to the city for great convenience it is located in a quiet neighborhood. Homemade breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelyn2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Brava House with our dog, which was totally no problem at all. The Fitzgerald Room offered a lot of space for the three of us. The location is ideal--close to downtown in an arty neighborhood where you can walk to the cafe, dog park or drug store for a yummy old-fashioned pineapple milkshake. The hosts are personable, long-time Austinites and real foodies, so they can recommend great places to eat and fun things to do. Plus, they are really into cooking themselves, so you're in for some real breakfast treats. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Fitzgerald Room is on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurelfrwoodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Brava House is our favorite place to stay in Austin. We are both from Austin but haven't lived there in a while, so we know the town pretty well. Brava House is in a great neighborhood - so close to everything, quiet, historically significant, shops and restaurants very nearby. The hosts try their best to meet your needs in any way they can - even if it is an unusual request. They make great local (not chain) restaurant recommendations, send you to the best Farmer's Markets, give you tips on what's hot to do and see in town, and generally make you feel like you are amongst friends. They live on site and take pride in their house, so the place is run with care, concern and compassion. We have stayed in the Fitzgerald, the Garbo and the Van Gogh. All classy, and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is a great time to chat with other guests or the hosts, or sit alone in the sunshine if you prefer. Pretty and relaxing outdoor courtyard/patio with small fish pond, fire pit, and grill. Great on cool evenings like we had on our last stay. Listen to the wind chimes and chill out! Thanks for sharing your place, Robin and Mary!!!

Room Tip: Our favorites are Fitzgerald and Garbo. Nice large, comfy, sitting rooms in both. Fitz has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerAustinite78756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Brava House recently for three nights. We really liked it. It's in a nice, funky neighborhood, which we enjoyed walking around before breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the oatmeal and the muffins. Also enjoyed the excellent coffee. We stayed in the nice and roomy Garbo suite. The heat worked well, and that was important because we were in Austin in Februrary (the nights were chilly!). The bed was quite comfortable, but be careful during that first night: the bed is on a quite high platform, and I nearly fell out heading to the bathroom! The bathroom itself is fine unless you cannot abide taking a shower in a combination bathtub/shower.

The hosts, Robin and Mary, are friendly and knowledgeable about Austin. Be sure to ask Robin about restaurants. She loves talking about food and is full of helpful suggestions.

Austin has a funky vibe and so does Brava House, makiing it the perfect place to stay. My only complaint (and it's a minor one) is that the towels had a kind of musty smell. But we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,908 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
8.9 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brava House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 1108 Blanco St, Austin, TX 78703-4920 (Formerly Southard House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brava House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's only downtown B&B nestled in a quiet historic neighborhood boasting some of the best walking in town. Surrounded by restaurants and shopping, Brava house offers the best of both worlds: quiet serenity, in the heart of all Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brava House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava House Bed And Hotel Austin
Brava House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing