We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kyle, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have stayed here so many times you would think we lived there! We love the Monroe room but all are fabulous! After reading all the reviews, it sounds like some people just cant be satisfied. too bad. i love it here. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    61
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
38
153
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed at Brava House for a long weekend with my husband and two children. We decided to go somewhere more "homely" than a faceless hotel chain. Brava House is in one of Austin oldest neighbourhoods and the house itself is old style (although we discovered that the cladding is no longer wood but plastic!).We arrived late evening in the dark and spotting the black sign with the house name and number on the grass under the bay window wasn't easy; but we got there. We were greeted by Mary (I think) and shown to our room. We stayed in the Fitzgerald Suite. The room was clean, the bedding was clean and well pressed and the bathroom was very clean. There were lots of nice touches and lovely period features. The beds were comfortable and the owners kindly turned the sleeper bed down ready for our sleepy children. There is off street parking at the back of the house, one car space per room. There is a nice deck at the back with chairs, a bbq and water features. The first day we decided to give breakfast a try (despite some bad reviews on here). We were greeted by Robin (I think!). She was very helpful; albeit the breakfast selection was rather poor. There was some coffee (and tea); I didn’t drink the coffee but my husband said it wasn’t great. There was some juice, but was it orange? Was it pineapple? We couldn’t work it out as it had been watered down so much it could have been anything! It was tasteless and incredibly pale in colour. My orange juice lover of a daughter wasn’t impressed! There was a very small plate of sliced bread next to the toaster, some butter, a small pot of apricot jam and some honey. In addition there was a small plate with some chocolate fruit cake slices and some bits of cinnamon buns (buns cut up and divided into smaller pieces). There was also a very small bowl of fruit salad (mainly melon and watermelon).We tried it but the melon was off and it was all so unripe… The saving grace was the fresh omelette Robin had prepared. It was really tasty, a pity it didn’t make up for all the rest. It was all a bit of a disappointment (and not great as you pay good money for the rooms!). Surely it doesn't cost much to provide slightly more variety and slightly bigger quantities?! Such a pity…as Brava House is perfectly located to easily walk downtown and is close by to a nice selection of antique shops, art galleries and various bars and restaurants. If we go back to Austin we’ll probably consider staying at Brava House again but we shall certainly avoid breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iside26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

There are a LOT of things to like about this B&B. The location is great: residential but only a few blocks to 6th Street, and an easy drive to anywhere in the city. At $139 per night (pre-tax), we thought this was very appropriately priced. The ground-floor Van Gogh room was spacious; the breakfasts were really good (especially on the weekend); there is a very relaxed atmosphere; very efficient late check-in; free & secure parking in the back of the house. Perhaps the best aspect of our experience was that inkeepers Robin and Mary were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about things to see, places to eat, shop, & drink, etc. Every morning, we guests received very valuable input from them. For us, there were no down-sides.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank running_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stay at Brava House every year when we visit friends in Austin for the Thanksgiving holiday. We have stayed in almost every room in the place and love them all. They are all unique, wonderfully furnished and very comfortable and cozy. Most of all, we enjoy the warm hospitality of the proprietors, who do a great job of making guests feel welcome. Brava House is in a prime location, near Whole Foods, coffee houses, etc. We would never stay anywhere else on our trips to Austin.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Bravo is in a quiet location in easy walking distance to the entertainment areas in W 6th S. Also close to some really near local cafe's and Bistro. It has Gorgeous rooms and lovely courtyard to relax in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We chose to stay at the Brava House during a recent visit to Austin to see our son. The location is great. You can walk to Whole Foods which is an adventure in itself. The house is very pretty and clean. For us, it had an odd vibe. We are used to B and B's where there is interaction with guests. The breakfast was ok but not up to standards of most B&Bs. We almost felt like we were intruders rather than guests. Mary, one of the owners, was helpful. But, there just wasn't a welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Fitzgerald Room was nice. It had a separate living area. TV was too small for the room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bamatravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Charming house, lovely cozy room. Great alternative to a downtown hotel. Arrived late and left early. Stayed in the Fitzgerald Suite which was very nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable. If you're looking for a comfortable cozy nights rest, this is a great find.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,099 reviews
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 202 in Austin
624 reviews
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brava House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brava House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Brava House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 1108 Blanco St, Austin, TX 78703-4920 (Formerly Southard House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brava House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin's only downtown B&B nestled in a quiet historic neighborhood boasting some of the best walking in town. Surrounded by restaurants and shopping, Brava house offers the best of both worlds: quiet serenity, in the heart of all Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Brava House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brava House b&b
Brava House Bed And Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing