We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Texas Honky Tonk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Broken Spoke

The Broken Spoke
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Texas Honky Tonk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

What a great place. Good food (chicken fried steak on paper plates), beer (bottle or pitcher), great music and dancing for those who are willing and able. We were staying in downtown Austin and had to get a cab to get out here, but we were all glad that we did. There was one band in the front and a different one in the back (where the dance floor is). This place dates back to 1949 and there has been little changed since then. Lots of Willy Nelson photos on the wall and those of other notable friends of the Spoke (like Earnest Tubb, Jerry Jeff Walker, Dolly Parton, Kris Kristofferson, etc.). Check out the home-made museum between the front and the back; mementos, photos, etc.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMan113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    117
    44
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Honky Tonk to do some Boot- scooting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Authentic Western Bar, Restaurant and Dancefloor with LIVE Music.
I celebrated my birthday here!! And I would do it again! Loads of fun!
The food is very american, with lots of barbaque-sauce and beans and white bread.

Has a little museum inside of classic country singers hats and pictures of famous persons who visit this little "Honky Tonk".

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We went twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a hoot. We had a blast at the Broken Spoke......we had so much fun we returned the next night. The staff was very nice. The highlight was listening to great Country Western music and watching the people dance like there was no tomorrow. SOOOO much fun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelgalMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was good, dance hall was fun, service was terrible.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were in Fredricksburg for a getaway and my Uncle wanted to hear someone who was playing at the Broken Spoke on Saturday, Feb. 8, 2014. We drove the hour or so drive and ate before the concert. The waitress was good and the food was good. They started selling tickets for the concert so we told one of the waitress that we would be right back that we were going to buy tickets for the concert. We came back and our food was gone. We found out that we told the wrong waitress and that our ticket was up at the cashier. You better remember what table number you were sitting at because they don't give your your ticket they turn it into the cashier and then you tell her what table you were at. When my husband went up to pay they gave him the wrong ticket and he said this is not my ticket. She was very ugly about it and acted like he was trying to get out of paying his bill. He finally got the right one and paid it. He told her they took our food before we were finished etc. and she was not apologetic in the least. I think she is the owner so I guess she doesn't care if she is nice or not! We won't be back again. I guess if you are not from Texas it might be a unique experience for you. Believe me there are alot better place to eat and to go dancing than here. I'm just saying.........

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorialynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brits on Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited, twice, on recommendation as we enjoy live Country Music and we were not disappointed. A nice band played (quietly) in the bar whilst we had our dinner and when we moved into the dancehall, we saw good bands for a very reasonable cover charge. Most enjoyable evenings and parking was fairly easy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broken Spoke also viewed

 

Been to The Broken Spoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing