We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Night Out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Broken Spoke

The Broken Spoke
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

$12 cover is a little steep, yes, but my friends and I had a great time here. You'll have the most fun if you actually know how to dance, I think, but we scooted around the floor a bit and did our best. Great music, great people watching.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopper211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    117
    44
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
212 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a honky tonk, back in time. Sit back, enjoy a pitcher of beer, enjoy the signature dinner of chicken fried steak. Last night there were folks from Montana, Califorina, Germany, Missiouri, Washington Tennessee, and Vancouver BC in addition to other US states. By the way this is a non smoking bar, as I guess is all of Austin. The music was great. PS: if you shop in Austin for groceries, take in your own sacks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bullwinkle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bad Dance Floor & Overpriced - a Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The dance floor is not wooden but a concrete slab. They also charge for dance class. The cover charge is also much more than many nicer clubs. You can go to Dallas Nightclub & get a FREE dance class on Wednesday, Friday, or Saturday. Check their website for specifics. They have a very large wooden dance floor & reasonably priced drinks. If you want to learn two-step, there are better places to go than The Broken Spoke.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PRRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Over rated and falling down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The night we went the band was Dale Watson & the place was packed..beyond capacity. You could not get a seat or a table, nor could you dance or even hear the band. $12 cover just to get in. Food was mediocre and overpriced. Unfortunately, this honky tonk's building is crumbling in on itself, too. Maybe on a less full night I'd review it differently, but we were very, very disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuluota, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dance the night away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

A local merchant told us about The Broken Spoke - she said "move heaven and earth" to go there - so we did. What a fun time. The Broken Spoke is known as the oldest honky tonk in Austin. There are two step lessons - we were late so we only got to watch and then the band starts around 9:30. Everyone was on the dance floor. Lots of locals at this place - even got asked to dance by a stately gentleman who had seen a few turns around the floor. It was a blast!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyLovesDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broken Spoke also viewed

 

Been to The Broken Spoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing