We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST Souvenirs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild About Music

Wild About Music
Ranked #9 of 100 Shopping in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Austin's unique music lifestyle store for over 23 years featuring the music themed artwork, apparel, gifts & accessories. We also carry Luna and Dean guitars and emergency musician supplies! Visit us for an incredible selection of Austin and music themed shirts, hats and accessories. Our friendly staff is also happy to help you navigate the Austin music scene and give you recommendations. We also host a desk for A/O tours, one of Austin's premier AIR CONDITIONED small group and individual tour companies. We highly recommend their 90 minute van tour of Austin.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“BEST Souvenirs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This place has the best not too touristy souvenirs that you'd actually want to buy, not just as a traveler. Very music based with cool postcards, magnets, t-shirts, prints, everything. So much cool stuff and its right on 6th street so its not off the beaten path at all.
It also has all sorts of eclectic stuff, I don't know how to better categorize it. Go in, and you'll probably find something you like.
(I thought this was a store...not an attraction).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Go browse around and enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed across the street from this store and wandered in to see what it was all about. We ended up staying for awhile. Really unique t-shirts (way too pricey unfortunately) I rarely see a T shirt which I think is cool and they had a bunch. Had they been within a normal price range I would have snagged a couple, but at $65.00+ no can do.....too bad
There are 3 levels with guitars, art and mementos. Fun place to browse, stop in if you are wandering 6th St.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cool Vibe Neat Store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Loved looking around this store. I love musical art and music themed items and this was a neat place. I would have spent more money but didn't want to carry the stuff around all night. I will definitely go back with more money and be more prepared to bring stuff home.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trip4AWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildAboutMusic, General Manager at Wild About Music, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks so much for visiting us! We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience while in our gallery.
We know there is way too much fun to be had on 6th Street to be hauling around a bunch of new purchases. We are happy to get them shipped safely home for you. We ship everything from clothing to custom made artwork all over the world on a daily basis. We look forward to your next visit.
Cheers!
Melisa Rodriguez
Director of Operations
Wild About Music
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Austin Downtown Theme Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived downtown Austin early on a Sunday morning before anything was open. So as our walking tour began we leisurely window shopped at many of the stores. Of the numerous venues we had to choose from my husband specifically wanted to come back to "Wild About Music". After walking across the Colorado River to see the "Stevie Ray Vaughan" statue enough time had passed to return to the shop. We spent well over an hour in the store. The selection of music paraphernalia is outstanding. We always buy a few souvenirs for friends and family and were able to find something for everyone in this one stop. The shop is much larger than it looks from the outside. Clothing, jewelry, kitchen gear, artwork, musical instruments, kids items...a great selection of everything. We could have spent all of our vacation money here. The sales clerk was super friendly and helpful. A visit here is well worth your time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denver_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This store has the coolest display of hand decorated guitars beautiful art work cool music themed gifts trinkets and jewellery clothing etc. It doesn't matter what type of music your into you will find something awesome here. Prices are reasonable not inexpensive staff is super friendly and helpful. The place has an authentic vibe, when I'm back in Austin I will be stopping in again

Helpful?
Thank swlisa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild About Music also viewed

 

Been to Wild About Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing