We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and unique”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pictures don't do the view Justice
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Pictures don't do the view Justice
The Deck
Your view from the front door
More Living Room
From the Dining Room
From the kitchen
The Kitchen
Deck
2nd Floor Master
2nd Floor Full Bath
2nd Floor Shower wall
2nd Floor Deck
3rd Floor Master Bedroom
3rd Floor Master Bedroom
3rd Floor Deck
3rd Floor Deck
Looking up the Tram
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Austin, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and unique”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house and its setting are just as pictured. As other reviewers have noted, it's away from the city but a only ten-minute drive to the HEB grocery and Target store.

If anyone is wondering about the tram... Keith provides really clear instructions on how to operate it and what to expect. Any remaining nervousness went away a few seconds into our first ride up, and I quickly learned to sit where I could enjoy the view of the lake changing as we rode up and down.

The entire property is designed so that the environment is part of the experience, with the dramatic windows and multiple decks. It's relaxing just to watch the sky through the day and into the night, and see the breeze ruffle the lake.

Our experience with the owner was completely positive; we would not hesitate to do this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jaye Anna...
Red Oak, North Carolin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Breathtaking and Relaxing!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My husband and I chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary in Austin, TX. The Tram House was a perfect location for this celebration. Riding a tram to access the house made it extra special. The house was perfect for many reasons: the house was a good size, the kitchen was equipped cookware and utensils, the bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the view of the lake from all three porches.

The privacy of the location and comfort of the living room was so relaxing, we had to make ourselves leave and visit Austin. We knew we didn’t come all the way to Texas to stay inside but there were a few days we didn’t leave. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, either for a long weekend or a full week….we highly recommend ‘The Tram House’.

April 20 - 27, 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and the view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCGolfer2...
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Long story short. The day we were supposed to check in my wife's mother passed away. The owner was nice enough to let us reschedule our visit. This seemed fair. But we contacted the owner after our stay for our deposit back. He said we did not give 2 weeks notice when my wife's mother passed away so he was keeping the deposit. How we were supposed to do that since she passed on the day we were supposed to check in the first time. He made no mention of keeping the deposit when we rescheduled. He only told us the contract allowed him to keep the money since we did not give 2 weeks notice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Tram ride
Liked least: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 25, 2012
I can't believe that this traveler was not happy. he neglected to mention that we allowed them to come back to the Tram House and stay the full length of their original planned trip and only charge them the cost of the maid fee.

While it is true that we kept the one nights deposit, our house was vacant the days they had originally planned to stay and then occupied by them when they used up other days. Our hearts went out to them because of the death in the family and that is why we invited them back when we were under no obligation to do so. In the end, we lost money and now we have lost in this negative review.

Ketih & Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing