We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sweet tooth.”
Review of Amy's Ice Cream

Amy's Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 98 Dessert in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My sweet tooth.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Why do we have 15 pints of Amy's Ice Cream in our freezer? Yup I said it 15. AMy's has their staples, but I like to add to them or get the flavor s they come up with. My faves are Mexican vanilla with as many Oreos they can put in the pint mixture and Chocolate Guinness. Need I say more? It's creamy delicious ice cream. Yum!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank obitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    72
    24
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream! Worth a Visit and a Nosh!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

There are a few locations of Amy's in Austin, We visited the one in the SoCo District and had to wait a good fifteen minutes on line while people had the opportunity to sample all different flavors of ice-cream. I choose the pistachio chocolate chip ice cream that was incredible. They had some pretty spicy flavors to choose from but I went for something creative, delicious and that I knew wouldn't come to haunt me later!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Get a milkshake”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Amy's has good ice cream, but there hot fudge is spectacular. Get an REO speedwagon milkshake. It is big enough to share with a couple of friends. They load it with ice cream, oreos and hot fudge. Too much for any one person to finish.
They have a location at the Austin airport, good place to visit when waiting on a flight.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllSeven7Continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't Understand What the Fuss Is About”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I were staying nearby and passed this place several times and saw long lines so we decided to try it. I got dark chocolate and he got Peah. mine was good but no different than Baskin and Robbins. My husband's Peach lacked any peach flavor. It tasted like a sweet vanilla with a slight perfume taste. Overall just Ok. On a positive note the employees are super friendly!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ocncapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“South Congress' Best Ice Cream”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Amy's is terrific and you can find a line of people waiting for a scoop just about any night. My only warning is that the ice cream is rich!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GaPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amy's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Amy's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing