We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #30 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon adventure to SXSW. This hotel was above and beyond our expectations. We both travel frequently for business and have experienced uncountable Hampton Inns. This is not a typical Hampton Inn! The rooms are clean, extremely comfy and furnished in such a way that you feel that you're in a boutique setting, not a business traveler's chain. The location couldn't be better for hoofing around Austin and if you're attending an event at the convention center you are about a block away.

We both love this hotel and have already booked it again for SXSW 2008.

Also, the breakfasts offer a lot of variety and you can eat on a balcony overlooking the street. Every night they offer beer, wine and snacks.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kriswvuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2007

I read through a mountain of horrendous reviews looking for a decent, centrally located Austin hotel. Maybe Austin just attracts cranks and fussbudgets, because it seemed reviews for even the "better" hotels were filled with horror stories about poor management, bugs, dingy rooms and thieves. Hampton Inn and Suites, however, seemed to have fewer bad reports--some positively glowing. I'm happy to report I found out why.

We booked a King Suite directly with the hotel. We were traveling with 2 teen-aged sons and needed the sofa bed and a rollaway. But when we got to our room, we discovered it was just a King room--no sofa! It was really a lovely, well-appointed room, but there was no way we could all stay in there.

I went back down, with printed confirmation in hand, and the desk clerk was aplogetic, but the hotel was full and the accommodation I booked was not available. She offered us a half-price discount for the room, but I expained it wasn't the price that was at issue, it was that we had one bed and 4 people in one room. She got the manager, who clicked away on the key board, and voila, she put us in a penthouse suite.

Talk about fabulous!! I felt like a celebrity. Two rooms, two bathrooms, one with a jacuzzi, wet bar, entertainment system, dining area--all beautifully appointed, good linens, tasteful elegant furnishing. And a great view to boot! All this for the same price as the King suite (and with the AARP discount, it was really a bargain) I hated to leave the hotel!

The breakfast the next morning was above and beyond anything you typically find at hotels--that is continental breakfast. Hampton offered sausages, fresh bisquits and gravy, fried eggs, all kinds of cereals, yougurt, muffins and bagels, with a multitude of things to slather on them, several kinds of juices, fresh fruit, and good coffee. We sat out on the veranda and enjoyed it all.

This hotel is in a great location--restaurants all around it, an just a few blocks from 6th Street, where all the action is.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CloudWalker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Staying downtown anywhere can be expensive. The Hampton downtown in Austin not only gives you and affordable option, but does not disappoint in any aspect. My girlfriend and I stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and requested a upper floor room (not a suite) with city views. We received the top floor SW corner room with views of not only the city, but Town Lake as well. Awesome!!! The room was not huge, but was definitely adequate and very clean. Housekeeping did a good job as well. The valet parking was courteous and prompt and all the staff were extremely professional and efficient. The breakfast is a huge bonus...sit outside on the patio if the weather allows. There are better hotels with "better" service in downtown Austin, but if you need your ego stroked that badly, check into self assurance clinic somewhere!!!!! Will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ausericanesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

If you want to stay downtown, this is definitely one of the better choices value-wise. It's close to several things without the higher price tag of some of the other hotels nearby.

Upon arrival we requested a rollaway since we had booked two beds (traveling with a spouse & 3 kids). The young man at the counter explained that these rooms weren't large enough to accomodate a rollaway due to the fire code, but he quickly offered to upgrade us to a king suite which accomodated us. It was a bit cramped, but we appreciated the effort.

Valet service was quick. Breakfast was bountiful. I can't imagine needing all that food because I only saw a few people the whole time we were there. Had the pool to ourselves - very nice for an Austin night!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patticakesTemple_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed here for an extended Memorial Weekend (4 nites) - couldn't find fault with anything, except that the suite ( which we pd. $229 for Thurs., dropped to $149 for weekend rate) is a bit overrated/priced. Location, pool, customer service was all above par and restaurants proved to be convenient. We particularly enjoyed a dinner at PF Chang's - the restaurant was full, so we ate at the bar, where the service was just as good.

Due to rainy/cloudy weather, we were unable to see the bats over at Congress bridge, but enjoyed drinks at the TGIF at Radisson instead.

I think overall, this Hampton exceeds some of the others we have previously stayed at. Again, I feel they misrepresent the suites that are available. The room we stayed in was just slightly larger than a typical room, but met our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chicsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Hotel Review - Like all of the hotels downtown it's overpriced, but its does compete well on its rate. I thought overall the service was lacking (none of their vending machines worked, and the elevators were very slow), but their breakfast was tasty, their valet helpful albeit pricey, and their housekeeping staff impressive. My biggest complaint echoes a previous reviewer's complaint - their "suite" is just a slightly bigger room with a fridge, couch, and extra coffee table. It's not worth the extra money, and we were disappointed since we needed extra space for the bride and bridesmaids to get ready.

Wedding Block Review - I booked a wedding block here and frankly I can't recommend their service since we filled up 20 rooms at their hotel. When I checked if we could have our part meet in their 2nd floor space - I received frank and unhelpful rejections to my special requests. They spread all my guests throughout the hotel, then said most people don't want wedding blocks in the same area (I certainly did). It would have been nice if they had stated their presumptions when we booked with them. If you don't require extra service for your wedding block, its an ok place to stay, but don't expect them to seem impressed or particularly helpful if you book your wedding guests with them.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank locolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

We arrived around 5 pm on a Saturday and quickly realized there was a street party going on across the street from our window. We were worried that, based on other reviews, noise would be an issue, but it wasn't at all.
We did valet. This was billed to our room so you don't need cash up front, but it was $18.00 for a 24/hr period. I actually left something in my car that I needed. I called the front desk who transferred me to valet. They gave me the options of coming and getting the keys so I could get the item myself, having them get it and hold it at the front desk or them going to get it and bring it to the room. I asked them to bring it to my room, which they did in less than 5 minutes. The front desk service was very pleasant and friendly. They asked if there were any restaurant or sightseeing inquiries, to let them know and they would accommodate us.
The room was very clean and updated nicely. The bed wasn't the most comfortable one I've slept on, but for a hotel, it wasn't bad. They had lots of pillows, which we like, and a nice fluffy comforter.
They have a breakfast buffet that is included in the price, but we decided to sleep in and skip the breakfast. (It ends at 10 am). I felt the price was a little steep, but for the location, it was very comparable. We paid $179 for a Saturday night.

On a side note-I HIGHLY recommend Dan McKluskys 6th Street to eat at. The food was amazing, the wait staff was awesome and to top that off, you can get a $25 gift certificate for $10 at ---!

We had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank txblonde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $128 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing