We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay GREAT Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #25 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay GREAT Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

I travel 20+ times per year and try to give objective (use-able) reviews.

We almost changed hotels because of prior reviews. GLAD we didn't. Our room (15th Floor) was clean, comfortable, quiet, and serviced promptly every morning. The Carpeting in the hallway had recently been replaced, and the rest of the common areas were very well kept.
I expected the continental breakfast to be a disapointment but there were (actually) a lot of choices.

This particular weekend was a difficult time to find lodging downtown. Most hotels were completely sold out. This was the only reason I scored lower on value. ~Had to pay the price....

The location is outstanding, You are walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank channelkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    334
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
150
221
63
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

I've spent there only one night and then moved to another hotel, this one was just disappointing. I checked in late in the evening, so I'd expect the room to be prepared, but the towels were dirty! Not grayish, like washed in wrong detergent - dirty, with some colored stains. Internet access - wifi only in the restaurant and lobby, otherwise hardwire. I didn't expect this, but I don't like to use my computer in the bed or other random places, so would be pretty ok if not one detail - no cable in the room! Come on, I've unpacked mine before the travel because I don't like to carry lots of useless stuff and there is always either wifi or wire available.
Breakfast was nice, but I can't understand one thing - everything was packed in tiny, individual containers - sugar, sauces, butter, marmalades, tea, everything! One person, one breakfast and a mountain of garbage on your plate afterwards... The vary same hotel asks you to reuse your towels because they "care for natural environment". What a hipocrisy! And, speaking of plates: all plates, bowls and cups were made of polystyrene. Even more garbage, and you feel more like you were on a picnic than in an expensive hotel. :-/

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Arehiril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

Pretty pricey for what you get. Average hotel - rooms looks a bit "tired”, not to clean and fresh - we found a note from some pervious customers, dated four weeks back....
Compared to lot of other hotels the rooms are smaller.
Valet parking. Central location.
We did not try the manager reception, the breakfast was not thing more than average.
Think average is the world to describe it, definitely not a place to remember. Next time we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed here to attend a conference. The conference hotel (Hilton) was three blocks away but the Hampton was much cheaper. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very professional and friendly.
Hampton Inns typically have a pretty decent free breakfast. They now have a "Manager's reception" from Monday - Thursday night (6-8:30pm) where beer, wine and snacks are provided.
The location was very central: one block from the convention center, four blocks from 6th street. There are many good restaurants within walking distance.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchivesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Earlier this month (August 2009), we were "guests" at the Hampton Inn Downtown-Austin, Texas, for five nights. The purpose of our stay was for me to undergo a medical procedure at an Austin hospital. This the filthiest hotel we have ever experienced. In addition, the front desk staff were indifferent to the point of extreme rudeness.

After my shower on the first morning of our stay, I leaned over to pick up a towel and saw that almost the entire outside surface of the commode was covered in dried excrement. Obviously, the toilet had overflowed at some point in the past, and the housekeeping staff had failed to properly clean up the mess. Even though we were rushing to keep a long-standing medical appointment, we took the time to bring this disgusting state of affairs to the attention of the front desk. One of the clerks contacted the head housekeeper, and after keeping us waiting 15 minutes, the clerk informed us the mess had now been cleaned up. My wife went up to check the room and found that the commode had not been properly cleaned even though the head housekeeper claimed that it had been. My wife returned to the lobby and asked me to take a look at our room.

In the meantime, I asked one of the desk clerks to inform the general manager that I wished to speak with him. The clerk superciliously advised that the general manager was ill and not available and that the head housekeeper was the best person to deal with "our problem." When my wife informed me the mess still existed, I insisted on speaking to someone else in a managerial position. After a further ten-minute wait, a man who identified himself as the manager of marketing appeared and, after learning what had happened (or failed to happen), accompanied me to our room. The manager of marketing immediately acknowledged the seriousness of the problem in the bathroom and advised that he would take immediate steps to move us to another room. Since we were under time pressure, we agreed to move to another room rather than attempt to find room in another hotel.

I returned to the front desk to obtain keys to another room. The clerk I had spoken to previously was not at the front desk. The other clerk, who was well aware of the issues we were dealing with, advised me there were no rooms available. Fortunately, at that moment the first clerk reappeared from the back office and assigned us to another room. Both clerks were unapologetic and totally indifferent to the incredible filth we slept with the previous night.

Since I had a medical procedure to undergo and recover from over the next four days, we decided to remain at the Hampton Inn Downtown-Austin. At the end of our stay, my wife showed me the bottoms of her slippers (which had white rubber soles); they were almost coal black from filth on the rugs of our second room at this horrible hotel. The only good news is that the marketing manager approved a write-off of the room charge for our first night there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucsonRoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur C, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, April 13, 2015
We are very sorry for the smell and issues you experienced. What you experienced was not the norm and on good faith our staff offered a comp night as we were very sorry you had such a bad experience. Again I'm very sorry and hope to see you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

This hotel was just ok. The location is the best thing about it - walking distance to entertainment district but still peaceful and quiet. The room was not as clean as it could be. The bathroom was dirty in places you could see but not really access (top of door frame, under the sink, pillow). Only one cup of caffeinated coffee is provided in room but they DO have a free breakfast till 10 with a coffee bar. We had issues trying to get the room cleaned even though we had taken the do not disturb sign off the door at noon. It took 2 phone calls and 2 trips to the front desk to get the staff to respond. I'm really not usually this critical with reviews, but I was truly disappointed after seeing such high ratings. Austin is a great city though and you can definitely enjoy it while staying here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amkasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Great Location for downtown. Room was clean kinda small. Refrigerator was not working replaced quickly. Great service would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing