We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #31 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for five nights while attending a conference at the Austin Convention Center. This hotel is very conveniently located to the convention center. The rooms were typical Hampton Inn. They were clean and reasonably large. The had only wired internet in the rooms (wifi in public areas only, but it was free. They provided a typical Hampton Inn free breakfast. The pool was outside, and it was too cold to be used. There were many restaurants within walking distance, and a couple delivered "room service." There was also a coffee shop on the first floor.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Elizabeth_C95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2008

It is booked by our client and yes they made a perfect selection for us. This leads to not only finalisation of our deal but also introduced us to a chain of Hotel which are Best place to stay equipped with all facilities.

Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
Thank Indi-Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Stayed at the Hampton Inn for 3 nights while attending convention. Great location - only 1 block from convention center. Very nice Hampton - got upgraded to corner room. Large room w/refrigerator, coffee pot & microwave. Free happy hour (beer, wine and snacks). Typical Hampton free breakfast. Lots of restaurants within walking distance - PF Changs right across the street, Melting Pot around corner, Flemings steak house 1 block away). This hotel was not one of the "official" convention hotels - but was much closer to convention center than others. Paid $189/night (which isn't bad for a down town hotel). Hotel was full (due to convention and Hurricane evacuees from Houston) - but services still first rate. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JAD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My friend and I stayed here in September while attending our annual board meeting which was located in a resort way out of town. Being familiar with Austin I wanted to be in the thick of the best nightlight and great restaurants and didn't want to have to drive. You can't beat this location at 2nd and San Jacinto, you are with 3 to 8 blocks of all of Austin's downtown nightlife and there is lots of it. As far as the hotel, the rooms are freshly and tastefully decorated with new beds and they are very comfortable with nice linens and plenty of comfy pillows. The bathroom could be a little bigger but it is no means small and the plumbing is all updated and in good working order and very clean, plenty of towels. We were on the 9th floor, and there was no noise either from the hallway (and we were close to the elevator) as well as from outside so the rooms must be well insulated. There is no Wi-Fi on the upper floors but there is FREE high-speed internet by an Ethernet cable right on the desk and plenty of plug ins for your computer and electronic equipment. Overall it's a 9+, the only upsetting thing was the vending machines. The soda/water vending machine on our floor didn't work the 2 days we were there even after a call to the front desk, the one on the 8th floor dispensed wrong items and this is frustrating when you want a diet Coke and get a Dr. Pepper. The hotel needs to jack-up their vending service provider. I did think that for a Hampton Inn the price of nearly $200 a night was a little steep, but considering the location and the nice amenities I wouldn't call it a great value but, competitive with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed at The Hampton Inn for 1 night in September 2008.

The hotel was easy to find and drive too, being just off the interstate, and parking was easy too. We used the valet parking at $18, which was easy, efficient and quick, but there was also adjacent self-parking at $14, although this is not associated with or recommended by the hotel.

Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed, with a large and well-equipped bathroom. We slept very well and thought that the hotel represented very good value for a city stay at a weekend.

Location-wise we were very handy for all of the sights. We walked up to the Capitol and Texas Museum during the day, found our way to the evocative bar in the Driscoll late afternoon, and then walked a short distance to see the famous Austin bats in the early evening. From the hotel it was a short walk later to find a choice of bars & restaurants in the evening.

Sad to say, we treated ourselves to a lie-in so missed breakfast!

In summary, if you are visiting Austin then The Hampton Inn is a good quality/high value hotel, well located, well appointed and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Seamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Like many other reviewers, I found this property to be outstanding for what it is-- a Hampton Inn. Rooms seems to be larger than typical Hampton Inns; I suspect this is due to the fact that the property appears to be a conversion from an older, full-service property.

One thing I liked is that the hotel offers room service from P.F. Chang's and Fleming's-- both of which are right across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HKG_Flyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Everything in Austin was sold out for the first night I was in town, and I thought I'd settle for the Hampton Inn for the location and price. Both were great, but the real surprise was when I got there.

The lobby was much nicer than I expected from the brand. The staff were incredibly helpful, immediately knowing that a package had arrived for me as soon as I said my name.

The room was one of the cleanest I've ever seen, and much larger than I expected for a downtown hotel. The bathroom was huge too, and everything was very well thought out.

The TV was nicer than I expected as well, though I barely watched it, and the refrigerator was an unexpected touch.

The location was a pleasant walk to 6th St, the Convention Center, and there was plenty of parking nearby. I didn't realize until I checked out, but there's also a lot of good food right near the hotel. I loved the South American cuisine place that was a block away.

The only downside was the pool, but it's a downtown hotel, and I didn't have time to use it while it was open, but it was tiny. One of the smallest pools I've ever seen. As a downtown hotel, at least they have one, but it was really, really small.

Great hotel though, great staff, great location, and for the cost-conscious traveler I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knottriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#28 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $131 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing