We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Some good some not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #26 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Some good some not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

First, our beds were comfy, our room quiet so we slept well. A warm breakfast served each morning gave us a good start to the day. Coffee and tea available all day was essential when we returned to our hotel after a day of sightseeing and needed to revive. The decor of the hotel made us feel like we were in Texas....., liked that.
The cons....received our bill and found we were charged for two nights parking....we had no car! Our room keys stopped working and had to be replaced three times, even though I had kept mine in its paper envelope in my wallet so not much chance of it being demagnetized, a nuisance when you had to wait for elevator and ride up 12 floors twice to get into room. Also corners in bathroom were dirty....maid service needs to be checked up on. And although checkout was at noon...maid kept knocking insistently on door starting at 9am...went to door several times to tell her we were still there. She couldn't speak English so couldn't converse with her to tell her what time we were leaving. A lot of construction in area made walking difficult but still possible. I fell once and have cuts on elbow and knee, and a dirty dress to show for it. You have to be very careful if you're walking rather than driving. As most of what we were visiting...Blanton art museum, Texas history museum, Capital building, and LBJ library were 9-12 blocks north of the hotel, if I were to do it all again, I'd stay north of 6th Street. We did see the bats from Congress st. bridge and that was close to hotel. As was the SoCo shopping district (which we didn't enjoy) . It's was also fairly close to 6th St. which was an interesting experience on Friday night.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    313
    92
    39
    20
See reviews for
133
203
60
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great food choices and walkable distance to Convention Center. There is no hot tub. One valet person was rude. But the rest seemed friendly. Don't lose your card they give you, you can text the number to have it waiting.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Place was clean, quiet enough, and the staff were average. However, the shower head pressure was terribly low. Taking a shower was not fun so I gave up and took a bath (not fun either). Place was clean, quiet enough, and the staff were average. However, the shower head pressure was terribly low. Taking a shower was not fun so I gave up and took a bath (not fun either).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was attending a conference in Austin and picked this hotel as it was near the convention center. In fact it is literally 3 minutes walk to the place. Nice welcome at check-in. I got one of the corner rooms which was a nice size and had a (little) view of the river. Hotel provides a complimentary breakfast which was fine: eggs, sausage, cereals, breads, waffles, yoghurt and fruit. Evening reception (Mon - Thurs) offered beer, wine and snacks. This area is located on 2nd floor and has a balcony which was nice. Small pool and fitness center is located on 4th floor. Short walk to the famous 6th street where of course you will find the bars and restaurants. I had brunch on the Sunday at the Moonshine Bar & Grill which is a short walk from hotel - very popular and busy spot. Checking out early I was pleasantly surprised to find they had complimentary "breakfast to go" at the reception desk - nice touch. Overall excellent hotel fro it's location and service.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are possibly a big bigger and offer windows on two sides which is handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickguyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel on business. The location is excellent and close to all downtown activities. The breakfast area is on the second floor and has a great balcony overlooking the street. The staff is professional and very helpful. The rooms are clean. I would highly recommend this Hampton. It is one of the best I've stayed at in this line.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed two nights on business. Staff were friendly at check in and I appreciated being told about the wi-fi passcode right away. My room was clean and quiet but window was rather small and not much of a view but I was on a lower floor. Location is great - walking distance to the bats, state capitol, and shopping. There is also a bus stop nearby for the airport flyer which is very convenient and much less expensive than the cab ride. Jogging trail very nearby along the river. The breakfast was just so-so but the staff in the dining area and meeting rooms were very friendly and did a great job.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ccpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a nice quick trip to Austin. I only wish that there was not so much construction in downtown.
The hotel was clean and the folks were friendly. We were very close so we walked around downtown and went to watch the evening bat show. It was very interesting and we all liked it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing