We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location one block from Austin Convention Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Weekend Getaway
Ranked #36 of 193 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location one block from Austin Convention Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was attending a conference in Austin and picked this hotel as it was near the convention center. In fact it is literally 3 minutes walk to the place. Nice welcome at check-in. I got one of the corner rooms which was a nice size and had a (little) view of the river. Hotel provides a complimentary breakfast which was fine: eggs, sausage, cereals, breads, waffles, yoghurt and fruit. Evening reception (Mon - Thurs) offered beer, wine and snacks. This area is located on 2nd floor and has a balcony which was nice. Small pool and fitness center is located on 4th floor. Short walk to the famous 6th street where of course you will find the bars and restaurants. I had brunch on the Sunday at the Moonshine Bar & Grill which is a short walk from hotel - very popular and busy spot. Checking out early I was pleasantly surprised to find they had complimentary "breakfast to go" at the reception desk - nice touch. Overall excellent hotel fro it's location and service.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are possibly a big bigger and offer windows on two sides which is handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimerickguyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tulsa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed in this hotel on business. The location is excellent and close to all downtown activities. The breakfast area is on the second floor and has a great balcony overlooking the street. The staff is professional and very helpful. The rooms are clean. I would highly recommend this Hampton. It is one of the best I've stayed at in this line.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed two nights on business. Staff were friendly at check in and I appreciated being told about the wi-fi passcode right away. My room was clean and quiet but window was rather small and not much of a view but I was on a lower floor. Location is great - walking distance to the bats, state capitol, and shopping. There is also a bus stop nearby for the airport flyer which is very convenient and much less expensive than the cab ride. Jogging trail very nearby along the river. The breakfast was just so-so but the staff in the dining area and meeting rooms were very friendly and did a great job.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ccpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a nice quick trip to Austin. I only wish that there was not so much construction in downtown.
The hotel was clean and the folks were friendly. We were very close so we walked around downtown and went to watch the evening bat show. It was very interesting and we all liked it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one weeknight. Great front desk service- we ended up canceling our second night without any hassle. Although parking is steep ($25/night,) parking attendants are courteous and helpful. We also really liked the location. I do think you can find cleaner and nicer hotels for less money. I was really grossed out by the yellow sweat-stained pillows- yes, all 4 of them- they should be replaced. There was also a couple short hairs on the bedsheets that definitely did not belong to us. AC also was weak in our room- we had it on 67 and it was still too warm. (And I normally get cold really easily.) To sum it up, great people and location, but amenities are lacking. Will probably not come back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KS8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel has icy cool room with complementary breakfast and fast internet. It has all I wanted to have for a comfortable stay. It is also very close to the bus station and conventional center. A hotel left me good memory.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice, large and clean. Good location and close to many of the popular areas. Nice breakfast in the morning. Worth revisiting. It's not the fanciest hotel in Austin, but on the other hand, it's not priced as one either. It's a good value!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#21 of 193 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 193 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing