We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Customer Service, So-So Amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #25 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, So-So Amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one weeknight. Great front desk service- we ended up canceling our second night without any hassle. Although parking is steep ($25/night,) parking attendants are courteous and helpful. We also really liked the location. I do think you can find cleaner and nicer hotels for less money. I was really grossed out by the yellow sweat-stained pillows- yes, all 4 of them- they should be replaced. There was also a couple short hairs on the bedsheets that definitely did not belong to us. AC also was weak in our room- we had it on 67 and it was still too warm. (And I normally get cold really easily.) To sum it up, great people and location, but amenities are lacking. Will probably not come back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KS8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    313
    92
    39
    20
See reviews for
133
203
60
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel has icy cool room with complementary breakfast and fast internet. It has all I wanted to have for a comfortable stay. It is also very close to the bus station and conventional center. A hotel left me good memory.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
188 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice, large and clean. Good location and close to many of the popular areas. Nice breakfast in the morning. Worth revisiting. It's not the fanciest hotel in Austin, but on the other hand, it's not priced as one either. It's a good value!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My stay at the hotel was awesome and the location absolutely fantastic. Convienent to 6th St, nice restaurants, and a fabulous music scene. I also found the location and the area very safe at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is in a great location central to everything! We did not need to take a taxi the entire weekend. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. We were even able to eat outside on the patio. I am so glad we chose this hotel and definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Having to stay here due to a conference and needing a hotel within the proximity of the Convention Centre, we chose this place because of the reviews. It was a mix of business and pleasure. We were hoping for something better but the condition of the room left a bad taste in our mouths. Here is what we thought we the pros and cons of the hotel.

OVERALL:
Pros: steps away from the Convention Centre, Congression Bridge (bats!), great restaurants (Crave was really, really a hit with us). Staff is on the ball, pleasant and attentive. Elevators are fast. Self-serve laundry available (5th floor, $1.50 for wash, $1.00 for drying). You can buy detergent and fabric softener in the room. A children's museum is being built nearby and there is a fun, eclectic toy store too (Toy Joy). I think it's a great location for family travel.

Cons: Wish there was somewhere else we could park overnight. $25/night is expensive! Might not be a bad idea to have a list of nearby restaurant with hours included. We were directed to a restaurant and after walking there we discovered that it was closed. Dryer doesn't dry completely. Even after 45 minutes, some of the clothes were wet. Though may have been my bad if I didn't clean the filter.

BREAKFAST:
Pros: complimentary. Good assortment (oatmeal, make-your-own grits, eggs various ways, various days, juice station, fresh fruit, pastries, breads, yogurts, etc.). We particularly liked the waffle option and the fresh grapefruits! Yummy. Coffee/tea (station) was good and there was a lot of teas to choose from. Loved the different food on different days. Loved the breakfast to go at the front desk which offered a brown-bag breakfast containing an apple, cereal bar and water. Great idea.

Cons: can't really think of any.

ROOM:
Pros: Lots of plugs to charge your electronics. Lighting is sufficient. Nice decor.

Cons: Floor was filthy. The carpet is definitely in need of some cleaning. We walk around barefooted and our feet were black the entire stay. AC blasts from one side of the room and doesn't circulate well so the entrance is humid and stuffy, while the other side is FREEZING. Mould lined our bathtub walls. Shower screen smelled rancid. House keeping missed our room a couple of times. Also when we called front desk (twice) to ensure they replaced a comforter which had stains (blood?) on it and emptied our overflowing garbage bins they didn't show up. Important note, they don't line the bins with a plastic bag so for those who want to dispose of anything that may be considered gross (e.g. used sanitary napkin, used condoms, soiled diapers, etc.) just remember the guest before you may have disposed of the same thing so wash your hands after if you've touched the bins.

Room Tip: Our room (1110) overlooked the outdoor pool. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinte55ential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hampton Inn a good in-between SoCo/Rainey/6th Street areas. We were able to walk to all which was super convenient. Very friendly staff, Fitness Center had the basics for a good travel work-out and good beds!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jennifersO2542DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing