We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hampton inn and suites austin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #32 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
austin, United States
2 reviews
“hampton inn and suites austin”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The worst breakfast experience I have ever experienced. All plastic plates cups cutlery. bad food, it seems that all the guests felt that there stay were ruined by the bad breakfast service. the only redeeming feature was the staff friendliness. the location was perfect , rooms were clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    348
    108
    42
    32
See reviews for
163
239
65
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton Inn downtown Austin for 4 nights in October. Nice hotel, and very convenient location. Most of the staff was very nice and accommodating. They provided lots of helpful hints about navigating the area. The weather was warm and humid, and the room never seemed to get cool enough despite having left the curtains drawn during the day, and setting the AC unit cooler. I caught a glimpse of the pillows (under the pillowcase) and they were stained. I found one of them without staining, and only used that one. Maybe I stay at too many Hampton Inns, but the breakfast was just so-so, very predictable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanC258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We enjoyed a three night get-away in Austin, and staying at the Hampton Inn Downtown was very convenient. Our original plans were to stay about six miles north on the I35, and WOW were we glad we didn't do that! The freeway was more like a parking lot morning, noon, and night. It would have added twenty to thirty minutes each way whenever we wanted to go somewhere! We were on the fifteenth floor, and our room was fine. The bed looked comfy, but was in fact extremely hard. The pillows are too fat; I was glad I brought my own. Breakfast was good, and there are trays available if you wish to eat in your room. The noise in the breakfast area was extremely loud... people were either having a great time or just talking loud because we were in Texas! The Valet parking is a rip-off, but there is no where else to park. We were glad we didn't have a car. The employees were very friendly and professional. Overall it was a great hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TruckMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This property was the chosen hotel for a wedding my husband and I attended, and our general impression that the hotel was not bad but definitely had room for improvement. It's in a great location, in walking distance of the majority of downtown locations, and the hotel itself is well-appointed. While our first impression of the staff was not incredibly positive (they were abrupt and not terribly helpful upon check-in), they were much more proactive, welcoming, and helpful following our first encounter. However, there were some strange housekeeping issues: for example, the room's only trash can was in the bathroom, and several linens were stained. We also found the room to be warm and humid, no matter how low we set the a/c. We visited in the fall, when the weather was cooler, so I'd imagine this would be a much larger issue in warmer weather. Finally, we had external noise issues on the Friday night that we spent at the hotel: despite being on the 16th floor, we could hear loud music and bass from the restaurant next door until approximately midnight (which was a relief, as the hotel staff told us that the music typically didn't stop until after 2 a.m.). This noise was definitely not the fault of the hotel, but this fact meant it was not something that they could affect or stop. I'd recommend requesting a room on the south side of the hotel and as high as possible if you're trying to avoid this noise. Overall, the stay was perfectly fine, but we'd likely look for a different place to stay if we were to return to Austin because of the issues mentioned above.

Room Tip: I'd recommend requesting a room on the south side of the hotel and as high as possible if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights for a conference and everything was great. The staff was very professional and nice. Our room was immaculate everyday. Breakfast was great. Changed everyday you got a variety of (hot) food that all tasted wonderful. Free wifi as well for guests. Just as nice as the other hotels in the area, just as close to entertainment/food/bars but with extra amenities not provided elsewhere. I definitely recommend this hotel for a downtown Austin stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhartsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Genuinely warm welcome, spotless accommodation and a brilliant location - Austin's many attractions are easily walkable from here. The hotel may be part of a chain, but the kindness and attentiveness of its employees make it a much more personal experience. They couldn't help me enough. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloooGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I was here on business and flew in after midnight. The desk clerk (female) don't remember name was very helpful and friendly. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast typical hampton inn. Road construction around hotel making driving difficult. Excellent restaurants across from hotel. Work out area clean. Valet parking a little high. No option to self park. Easy access to I 35. Would stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ironman91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing