We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #31 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very please with this hotel. Spacious rooms and modern bathroom facilities. The lobby area was very comfortable - with complimentary breakfast each morning. Managers drinks on selected weekday afternoons were a pleasant surprise after a long day in meetings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBlueAnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in downtown Austin. I stayed there 5 nights in May 2013 for work. The hike and bike trail is close by, downtown and the entertainment district are within walking distance.

The hotel itself is fine. I paid ~$200 per night with a AAA discount. You can get a nicer hotel 10 miles north for half the cost...so you are definitely paying for location. It is a bit cheaper than other downtown options. The room was clean, on the smaller side, but with a good view. Breakfast was ok. There is a fairly large breakfast seating area. There is a fitness room with 2 or 3 machines and some free weights. It seemed to be under-sized and the machines were often fully occupied in the morning. Hotel services was adequate but unremarkable.

Room Tip: Downtown construction woke me up twice in the week. You may want to get a room on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QDM_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

this place is really bad! the room did not have curtains and the blinds didn't work.
it smelled like someone had run a meth lab their and they tried to cover up the smell with ammonia
the coffee was made with the meth water
in all seriousness stay away from this place. it has no redeeming value
much better choices in Austin

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardtolike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and I am very sorry for this experience. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

wow... the hotel allowed 45 people to have a graduation party at the TINY pool that were not guests of the hotel. When you allow 18 year olds to man the front desk.. you can't expect it to get taken care of. So much for a nice weekend in Austin.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helllo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

I’m so sorry you experienced some noise issues during your stay. We work diligently with our staff to ensure each of our guests is respectful of others, while still enjoying their stay and special event. We regret you experienced a noise level that made your stay unpleasant. We hope you will give us another shot the next time you are in the area. We are eager to make your stay with us the best hotel experience you’ve ever had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hampton. The hotel staff was lovely! Everyone was friendly, the pool was just right, and the location was perfect. I would definitely recommend to others! I was able to relax knowing I was taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I must say, Hampton Inn has been stepping up their game. The first two floors of this building are vintage and have lovely charm. The room was clean, there is a smallish outdoor pool (lots of hanging out and beer drinking was going on there) and a good breakfast selection. The hotel is also a short walk to the clubs on 6th Street and the Congress Avenue bridge to see the bats. Valet parking with in-and-out privileges was $24 a day. Regular parking was $12 a day but there was not much information available on in-and-out. Overall, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meercoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Found this motel average, the reception staff was average and the gentlemen who worked in the mornings was just plain rude.
Breakfast selection was very good, however this was the only highlight. Unfortunately we left some items in our room and when I contacted the motel I was advised to call a direct number and this went to voice mail and I was never contacted after two attempts.
Great location and as Australians will be travelling to Austin again for The motor racing next year, unfortunately I would not recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $156 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing