We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel in downtown Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #26 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Nice hotel in downtown Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nice place, close to the convention center, clsoe to the crazy bar scene on 6th, cvs in walking distance, whole foods in walking distance, 20 mins from the airport, decent breakfast, clean room, plenty or restaurants nearby, liquor store 2 blocks away although they have a blue law so no booze on Sunday except in a bar but otherwise no complaints

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ParadiseAsVice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    313
    88
    39
    20
See reviews for
130
200
59
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If his hotel is nicer than your average Hampton. The beds reminded me of the Ritz beds...very comfortable! We stayed in a regular room and it had a mini fridge which was nice. There is a free breakfast every morning and the food was very good. The staff was attentive. The location was great, right in the middle of downtown, near the lake and some great restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel had friendly staff, provided maps, advice and a good breakfast as part of the stay. The hotel was clean comfy and attractively furnished. (The bed was excellent.) Can't beat that location which is close to good restaurants, Capitol Building, SoCo (South Congress) street and the river walk which I highly recommend you take after dinner. Valet parking was the only thing available otherwise I could have given it 4 stars. Most hotels provide valet parking option;common, valet parking ($26) for my rental car?

Room Tip: Can't say I have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonys13961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I appreciate your review of our property. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges and I apologize for any miscommunication. We strive to create a wonderful and affordable guest experience. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you are looking for a good downtown location, this is a nice choice. I had a conference & trade show to attend at the Austin Convention Center and this was a nice walk. Rooms were clean and updated. "Room Service" is P.F. Changs and Flemings, so how can you go wrong? Fast, friendly, and attentive staff. Breakfast was above average and had a very mice selection of healthy alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. I went to Austin with a girlfriend to celebrate my birthday. I picked this location because it is conveniently located in downtown to many restaurants, shops, clubs, lounges, & music venues. It's too bad the hotel bites the big one. From beginning to end, service lacked in quality and cleanliness. It needs renovating for sure - especially when it comes to manners. I waited in my car in front of the valet for quite some time without the valet even noticing. I finally got out and asked if they would valet my car. He said sure & didn't bother to move or help with my bags. I asked my girlfriend how they treated her - the same. WTF?! I get to the front desk, and wait while the staff chit-chats. I finally get checked in...next day, early morning. House keeping and a manager knocked on our door not one, not two, but four times! We had a do not disturb sign, told them to stop knocking since we were sleeping in and my girlfriend was hungover. Needless to say, they kept knocking! "We came to clean." "Aren't you checking out?" "Aren't you checking out?" ...Seriously?! Like I said, great location - horrible staff which will make me give my service to another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi_Tag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry for your experience, we are working on improving our guest rooms and are planning serveral customer service training classes in order to improve our service so that this does not happen again. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent a long weekend for the Moto GP in April. Everything was fine, as I have come to expect from Hampton's that I have stayed in over the years. Staff very friendly & attentive, room (king suite) was very comfy & clean. Pool on the 4th floor was heated & a welcome unwinding spot at the end of thee day for us & our friends. I'm sure there are fancier hotels in the area, that cost substantially more for but for a pleasant stay with a great staff give the Hampton Downtown a try next time you're in Austin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robear1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

stayed here instead of conference hotel of Four Season. Glad I choose this hotel because the breakfast was far superiour to what was provided at Four Seasons. Breakfast was the normal scrambled eggs,hard boiled bacon, yogurts, bread (whole wheat), fruit (sliced and whole), pasteries, juice, cereal, waffles, and all the fixings to go with....they even had soy milk.
Ask for a room above the 5th floor due to noise. The gym is being renovated so the equipment is set up in an different room, however the equipment is old and not maintained or cleaned, lots of metal shavings on the floor from lack of oil. In addition there are no exercise mats, jump ropes, balls or bands to use (a small investment of $100). Make sure to take a walk down to the river trail, well maintained and clean. The manager reception also had wine and some snacks. Location great as is was 2 blocks from the four seasons, plenty of restaurants, and a Jimmy Johns was close enough to deliver! Make sure to go to Stubbs for BBQ!

Room Tip: high floor to avoid hearing the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing