We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #29 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband, 10yr old daughter, and myself stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We were there to watch our older 2 girls swim at the 4A High School State Championship Swim Meet that was at UT. The check in took less that 5 minutes. Steve at the front desk was great! He even let us check out 2 hours later without charge because the meet wasn't until late afternoon. We had a king studio in the corner on the 6th floor. It had a pullout sofa. The room was very large with a big long desk so my youngest could do some makeup school work, and, at the same time, my husband could work a little, as well. The room had a small fridge, microwave and sink. I used the fridge to store fruit, sandwich stuff, yogurt,etc. We thought the location was great and we had no problem with room noise. I did hear some construction going on but if you bring your noise maker machine or use IDream on your iPhone, then you don't hear it. Check out took less than 5 mins, as well. Parking is 19$ a day.
The only thing we thought that was not great was the breakfast. The food had absolutely no flavor. There was no salt, only pepper.There was some cold breakfast cereals,bread, and oatmeal, but the oatmeal had no flavor. Just needed a little salt. We're not picky about breakfast. Just having some basic scrambled eggs, instead of the flavorless omelet things they had in the warmer would be fine. The coffee was very good. We told them at checkout about breakfast. Not a big problem. It's an easy fix. We stayed at the Drury Inn and Suites last yr. They had a great breakfast. Waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, toast, bread, oatmeal, cold cereals, etc.
Gave it 4 stars only because of the breakfast. But, like I said, that's an easy fix and would stay again. Everyone was super nice and the hotel was clean and close to plenty.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I really want to love this property, but despite the great service and super helpful/friendly staff, it has been hard to get any sleep here. My room was facing the conference center and there was loud music late at night. Then at 7 am the construction started - and it was ridiculously loud! There was a bulldozer scraping off asphalt and then backing up and beeping, over and over again at 7 am. So I was up til 2 am from the street noise and music, then woke up from the construction. There is another big construction site in back of the hotel. So if this is important to you, check on the construction situation before staying here. Other than that, I highly recommend this property. Very convenient to many restaurants and the convention center, and as I said, the staff is wonderful. Bed is very comfortable too, so maybe if you bring earplugs....??

Room Tip: Ask if construction if finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuanaRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Only stayed here because every hotel was booked. If I could have switched to another hotel I would have. I never give reviews on Trip Advisor but I feel I need to warn people about how awful this hotel is. Stay away!! Not Worth it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. It was super convenient to down town and easily accessible to public transportation. We walked everywhere. This hotel has a great balcony off the breakfast area. The breakfast was great (and free). The staff were just so personable and friendly, and they have a shuttle to the airport. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kk1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel was walking distance to several downtown attractions. Breakfast is great and the rooms were clean. Staff was pleasant, but valet was slow. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful in helping us plan our sightseeing. The hotel shuttle will run you around for $3. You are so close to 6th street that you can walk back to the hotel after you are done enjoying the night life!

Room Tip: You don't hear the nearby construction from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel was great and the location was excellent. Easy walking to the Convention Center, Congress Street, and Sixth Street. The breakfast was delicious. The beds were comfortable. Happy Hour was a pleasent unexpected delight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teacherme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stay here for a great value and easy walks to Rainey Street, Dirty 6th Street and Warehouse areas. Clean hotel. Normal Hampton breakfast. A bit slow on the valet. Very convenient to the airport. If you are gold or diamond Hilton honors members, make sure you get your water every night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndieback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 203 in Austin
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $198 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing