We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fun experience!!”

Rocket Electrics Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Rocket Electrics Tours offers Austin's only comprehensive electric bike tour service. Unlike traditional bikes, electric bikes offer riders the ease of use as the electric motor quietly and effortless glides you around the city. Come find out why Rocket Electrics Tour consistently one of the top tours in Austin. Guided Tours: Foodie Tour Includes a guide, electric bike, and four courses for food from the coolest spots in town. We hire Foodoes and chefs to be your guide and pick the best spots based on your preferences and all food is included! Private tours are available for more flexible start times and tour options. Live Music Capital of the World Tours. For this tour we hire full time working Austin musicians to guide you through the city and uncover Austin's musical heritage. The tour climax is a live performance by the artist overlooking downtown Austin. Many seasoned world travels have said it is simply the best tour they have every experienced. Lady Bird Lake Tours. Get a great overview of Austin and see some great sights. Stops included Stevie Ray Vaughn Statue, Doug Sahm Hill, Barton Springs, Zilker Park, and Rainey Street. Private tours are available for more flexible start times. Custom Private Tours and Corporate Outings If you enjoy VIP treatment, our Private tours may be just the right ride for you and your group! Private tours are the ride of choice for special occasions or just because you'd rather not share a guide. We offer Private tour experiences on almost every day of the week and we love sharing your celebrations; birthdays, family reunions, bachelor/bachelorette parties, anniversaries, or just to have FUN, we're ready to give you a unique experience! Self-Guided Tours: If you prefer to find your own way around town take our electric bikes out for the day or even overnight. We will provide maps and make sure you get pointed in the right direction for anything you would like to see. We even have door to door ebike delivery that can have bikes delivered right to your hotel or rental (within Austin City Limits) All tours begin at the Rocket Electrics shop at 1608 East Riverside Dr 78741, One mile Southeast of downtown Austin. Our shop is directly connected to the famous Austin Hike and Bike trail system and has unlimited free parking. Our tours can accommodate groups as small as 2 and as large as 30. Custom tours are available for groups of 5 or more. Please visit our website for more details and booking information.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Super fun experience!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a blast hanging out with John and getting a taste of Austin that we didn't even know existed! The bikes were so fun! We couldn't have picked a better way to celebrate our anniversary. We will do this again with friends and family for sure!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    16
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a fun way to see the city!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I signed up for the "Food Trucks and Dives" tour with Rocket Electrics, after reading all of the rave Trip Advisor reviews. Are we ever glad that we did! Having only ridden a bike once in the last ten years, and never down city streets, I was extremely nervous, but I could not have felt safer or more comfortable on these bikes. After a quick practice loop around the building, we were off with our tour guide Johnny. We had a great time with the rest of the group (9 of us in total) walking through dark biker bars to find the Asian food truck parked in back, and wheeling around the city. We finished the night at a great beer garden, devouring sausages, fruit crisp, and beer. We were having so much fun, we hardly even noticed that we had gone over an hour and a half over the tour guide time. Johnny and the crew from Rocket Electrics were very generous and gracious hosts, and we had a great time getting to know them. Would definitely come back again, and recommend the tour to anyone coming to Austin!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieK4253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“The rockets are awesome!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We got the bikes for a couple of hours and had so much fun! Do a little pedaling if you feel like exercise or just open the "throttle" and enjoy the ride. We went along the river to explore Austin's great outdoor feeling, with a balmy 80F in February (coming from Boston, a real treat!) Next time we will definitely sign up for the foodie tour. Super comfortable and fun to pass everybody in a breeze. John and Nicole are wicked friendly, five stars again, they deserve it! Would love to have these bikes in Boston!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sildanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“These bikes are awesome!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a food tour with Rocket Electrics on a random Wednesday in January. It turned out we were the only ones signed up for that day! We got an awesome, personalized food tour on these awesome electric bikes (no need to pedal!). John, the owner and our personal guide for the day, was super friendly and down-to-earth, pointing out random quirks and historical facts of Austin. This was hands-down the best tour I've had - fun, informative, and tasty!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Part of our Trip”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My friend Jane and I booked bikes for the day and had the best time. At first we thought we would do the food or music tour but after calling and talking to Nicole and John, we decided renting the bikes for the day and having them give us suggested places to visit was the way to go for us and we were not disappointed. Nicole had a map completely mapped out for us for us when we arrived. It was raining (misting mostly) the entire day but we had raincoats and although we got a bit wet we still had a wonderful day exploring Austin. We did most of what Nicole suggested from the map and saw some wonderful sites. At one point Nicole even called to check in on us during they day and because the weather was so bad offered to let us keep the bikes overnight to get some time in the next day when the weather was going to be better. We had other plans the following day so we did not do this but thought it was great that she offered. Nicole also emailed both Friday and Saturday providing us with ideas on bars and music not miss each night. We followed her suggestions and had two great nights out!

I cannot say enough about this operation. Nicole and John were amazing. They are truly there to make your stay in Austin as fun as possible. They made our trip!

The bikes were very cool too. We got around so easily! I so wish we had something like this here in DC.

If you are looking for a fun and easy way to see Austin in a day, I highly recommend Rocket Electrics. Based on what you are looking for, they will take care of you and give you a great way to see all of Austin!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbjmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocket Electrics Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rocket Electrics Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing