We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfy Clean Room, Great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Ranked #95 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Waxahachie, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfy Clean Room, Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two (too short!) nights while attending a party/event at Lake Travis. We are from Texas (Dallas area), but were not familiar with Austin hotels. I am VERY picky about hotel rooms - I expect them to be immaculately clean and like a good value and great comfort. I called around to several hotels close to where we were going to be, and asked lots of questions about rooms. We finally decided on this one, knowing that we could leave if we didn't like it when we got there. Marvena is who we talked to on the phone, and she held our room for us, and was very helpful!

When we arrived, we were VERY pleased with our room. We actually had a handicapped room (we are not handicapped and didn't ask for this room, and felt a little guilty taking one, but I guess they had plenty available - we would have traded to a regular room if someone needed ours!), and it was VERY roomy. The room was IMMACULATELY clean, and the beds at Fairfields are AMAZING. GREAT pillows, firm mattresses with those cushy soft pillow tops, and BEAUTIFUL and clean linens - none of those scratchy, ugly, quilted polyester things here! I really didn't want to leave!
The only downside was the bathroom counter is kind of small to fit all of our toiletries, but that's not enough to keep us away!

Breakfast was very good (and open fairly late in the morning!), with a nice selection and quality goods. The staff was always very helpful and the location is a great one - close to NXNW and some great shopping, and not far from downtown or the lake. The price was also great (89) - which was cheaper than other ones that were closer to downtown and we didn't have to go online to get that price. We were very pleased with our selection and have "bookmarked" it in our GPS because we will definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel6239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    69
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
40
27
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leroy, TX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Our stay was for only one night. The hotel was very nice and very clean. We had a very enjoyable stay and was close to the event we were in Austin for. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Good restuarants are close by and fairly easy to get to. The only problem we had, was initially the place was a litte hard to get to, but we quickly learned our way around. We would definately stay there again.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gondrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

This hotel was convenient since we were going to Pickle Research Center, the Domain, and a golf course in Round Rock. Otherwise, it is pretty far north from downtown Austin. Clean rooms, very friendly and accomodating staff, good stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aashleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We thought this Fairfield Inn seemed newer and nicer than others we've stayed in. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was more complete than many hotels in this category.

We overlooked the parking lot, so we didn't have any problems with the trains (as others have referenced). It does seem to be a very active train track.

Location is great-- easy access to many of the major roads.

Will definitely stay in this hotel again for future visits to Austin.

  • Liked — clean, good value
  • Disliked — nothing I can think of
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Arrived quite late, but front desk staff had my room key waiting, making check-in very speedy (quick note for non-Texans - make sure you get off at the right exit for the highway frontage road, otherwise you'll go in circles for a little bit). The room was spacious and very clean, and most furniture looked rather new. Free Internet and free breakfast is always a plus - the Texas shaped waffle iron was a nice touch. My suite also had a microwave and mini-fridge, which would have been helpful if I were staying for more than one night. The only negative in my stay was that housekeeping had forgotten to put soap in the bathroom when cleaning the previous night. Hotel is right near a very upscale mall and several major businesses (including National Instruments) which made it very convenient. For the price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Very clean, free amenities like Internet
  • Disliked — Difficult to get to if unfamiliar with Texas frontage roads
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The first day we overslept and did not leave the hotel room until after 1pm. When we left we saw a bag of towels sitting outside of our room. We didn't realize until later that that meant that housekeeping is already gone and we will not have housekeeping for that day. The second day we left at 11am, and we made sure that the "privacy please" door hanger was inside our door, but when we got back at the end of the day, we saw to our dismay another bag of towels outside our door, and the door hanger hanging on our door knob. It happens to be the same weekend that a soccer convention was going on, so we suspect that the housekeeping must have gotten behind and started cutting corners. By this time our room was smelling like trash and we had to take the trash out ourselves. We complained to the front desk and the nice lady deducted $50 from our bill. But it had already ruined our impression of this hotel. We are happy with the service and breakfast otherwise. The breakfast is good continental, consisting of bagels, English muffins, toast, heat-it-yourself bacon-and-egg sandwiches, hot oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, and some eggs and spicy sausages. Also bananas and apples, and 3 kinds of cereal, juices, milk, yogurt, coffee and tea. Everything is fresh and tasty but they don't wait a bit, if they say it ends at 10am, everything will be locked up and cleared away by 10:03 pronto. Why don't they just let people eat whatever that's left out there? I wonder if they are really going to save up those breads to serve again the next day. We requested a room away from the trains and were granted one. Did not hear the train at all. Our room was a King-bed suite, but the living and bed rooms are actually open to each other and there is no door in between, so it's not really private. Still, it was comfortable enough for the four of us and the shower was excellent. So I'm giving it 3 stars despite the horrible housekeeping.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Khim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed here because a family member had reserved a discount block of rooms for a wedding. I read the other reviews first and knew about the train, but got the impression it was some kind of toy. It is a freight train. The hotel staff seems oblivious to it. It goes by about every hour during the night and blows the whistle and you can hear the rumbling. It is only about 200 feet from the hotel. The other side of the hotel is near the highway, but our relatives said that with the A/C running you could not hear the traffic. Choose the highway side. Otherwise, the staff is friendly and the hotel is clean. Breakfast was fine -cereal, waffles, yogurt.

  • Liked — Convenient to the event I was attending; not too far from downtown Austin
  • Disliked — Location near rails; somewhat hard to get to from highway, but that's Texas for you
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarylandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Courtyard Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Candlewood Suites - Austin Arboretum-Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Address: 11201 N Mopac Expy, Austin, TX 78759-5411 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin Northwest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin
Fairfield Inn Austin
Fairfield Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing