We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, new, but noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Ranked #101 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, new, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a nice new hotel, convenient to the highway, free parking, free breakfast - what you expect from a Fairfield Inn & Suites. The interior of the room is oddly not as spacious as it should be with a giant wall in the center separating the living and slipping areas.

The real problem is the noise. On one side is mopac, a busy highway, on the back side is the railroad. You choose your punishment. Of course if you are on the first floor you have the added noise of the parked cars,

Room Tip: I would chose the mopac side, as the windows are decently insulated.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 2opinionated_guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are in a busy area and have a lot going on around us. I apologize for any inconvenience. Please ask for the front of the building upon check in. It is quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    71
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
42
28
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you have work in the North area of the city, this is a great place to stay. Very efficient and helpful staff. Although the property is locted next to the highway, its very quiet. Several eating places close by too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiwaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were in the Austin area. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend, Oct. 11th - 14th. We were extremely pleased with the staff, breakfast, and our room. The staff was helpful and friendly at all times. Even when we asked for paper plates and forks around midnight one night! The breakfast was awesome, and cooked really well. And our room was great with a super comfy bed. We noticed the high ceilings immediately and were later told that only the bottom floor had them. It added a somewhat different/nice feel to the room. Oh, we also thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub. We thought for sure it would be closed when we decided we wanted to get in it around 11pm one night. But no, the pool area was open and the hot tub was on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the full hot breakfast and the hot tub. I enjoy the nice open feel of the rooms as well. We have a great staff to assure that you get the cleanest and friendliest stay possible.

Thank you

Brandon Heidkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our king suite was smaller than those at other properties, but we liked the furnishings and it was clean and comfortable. Highlights include the proximity to the Domain, spacious and attractive lobby and breakfast areas, and moderate prices for suites. We appreciated the pleasant and efficient front desk associate who, unprompted, made sure to provide us with a room furthest away from the train tracks. The fitness and pool areas were cozy and cramped, but we were able to enjoy them fully during non-peak hours (check-out times between 10:30 - 12). The property met our basic business needs and we would return.

Note that if you're driving to the Domain, you cannot directly access the shopping center from the hotel (though it appears that way on most maps) and as such, it's convenient to come from the center but not as easy to get to it.

Room Tip: As mentioned, ask to stay in a top floor room away from the train tracks and elevators/stairwells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad that you were able to get in a suite away from any noise. Next time you stay with us please use the shuttle, it can take you to and from the Domain for shopping.
It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the exercise room and pool. I look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Regards,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the domain. It was nice little place to stay, just make sure you don't miss the hotel as it's easy to miss the turn. The rooms were smaller than I had imagined, but I slept comfortably.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah_0074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were in the Austin area. I hope that you were able to take the shuttle over to the Domain while you were shopping.
I understand that the turn to get into the hotel is easy to miss. I will work on a way to make that easier.

Regards,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Fairfields are reliable places to stay. This one is a little difficult to get to so pay attention to the directions. It's easy to miss the turn and have to go around again. Despite a hotel full of little leaguers our room was quite. We had upgraded to the slightly larger room. The smaller one would have been really cramped with all our gear. Breakfast included the usual waffle maker, also eggs and a different meat every day and microwaveable breakfast sandwiches.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kensbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am glad that you and your team stayed with us while playing in the Austin area. It is easy to miss the turn, I apologize for that.
I am happy to hear that you and the team were able to get the full hot breakfast. Our suites are larger and have the additional tv that make it nice for teams or parents that can watch something else.

Thank you,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few months. The staff is very friendly and helpful! There is an array of breakfast foods that should suit any taste or preference. It is fairly quiet and have not had any issues with numerous stays. They are located close to the Dominion, which has great food and shopping. They are more than happy to shuttle you over and pick you up if you don't have transportation. As a woman that often travels alone, I feel safe and secure at this hotel. Definitely recommend if you find yourself in the Austin area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6Liz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are glad that you keep coming back to see us while in the Austin area. Our shuttle can take all guests in a 5 mile radius around the Austin area and we are glad that you have been taking advantage of this service. We are excited about our full hot breakfast with cereal, fresh fruit, breakfast sandwiches, hot eggs, sausage, oatmeal, waffles and more.

We are looking forward to seeing you next time you are in Austin.

Regards,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Courtyard Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Address: 11201 N Mopac Expy, Austin, TX 78759-5411 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin Northwest
Fairfield Inn Austin
Fairfield Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing