We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded rooms need to be upgraded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Upgraded rooms need to be upgraded”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

As a Hilton Diamond member, my wife and I enjoying staying at Hilton Garden Inns for the quality and ammenities. When we entered the lobby we were excited about this location it looked great. The front desk informed us that our room had received a major upgrade and was a mini-suite. Unfortantely, our room was painted gray walls, Lounge chairs are next to the TV so it was impossible to watch. A mini couch was so uncomfortable one couldn't sit on it for more than a few minutes and there were no reading lamps. The bathroom's upgrade was some new caulk, but otherwise it looked like it had 20 years of use. This is a very basic striped down room, not something one would pay a couple hundred dollars to stay at. The management was upset that we complained and said most people were happy with the upgrade if they stayed with them previously. Dont stay here unless you have to.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    189
    67
    32
    13
See reviews for
195
116
33
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Hotel Room is nice and large. Very new.. Lobby is nicely done. Overall location is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supertier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel is very nicely appointed with a good sized lobby. The rooms were in nice condition. I heard one staff member say they had been working at the hotel for 11 years! If you aren't sure where to eat go across the street to Rudy's. I will stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here for two nights while in Austin for a family wedding and would definately stay here again. The remodeled property is refreshing and nice, location is convenient to Austin, and it is quiet and well run hotel. The remodel in the lobby and common areas are done and the forth floor rooms were complete. I don't know about the top floor but the 3rd and 2nd floors still had the old carpet in the hallway when the elevator doors open. Work is continuing but should be done soon. The room we stayed in was very nice, clean, flat screen tv, new comfortable beds and modern decor. A major heatwave put the AC on full blast day and night. The AC unit froze up so it was not working as efficiently but was tolerable (76 degrees) when this happened at the end of evening. The night staff, Ed spent some time in our room trying to remedy the AC and what he did helped and he offered to move us to another room but we decided we could sleep at 76 degrees and eventually his "fix" cooled the room down further. My guess is that the AC unit was not replaced and simply can't tolerate the demands....it was very very hot outside.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Nice clean hotel with attentive service that belies the low price. Nice, big rooms, stylish lobby and good service at breakfast, too.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2010

What a great find! Beautiful lobby made you feel like you were staying at a luxury hotel.
There were also freshly baked cookies, snacks and fresh fruit and coffee for guests to help themselves. Friendly front desk personnel and very clean room--bathroom looked like new--everything sparkled! The bed was adjustable if you wanted a different firmness to the mattress, but my husband and I found the bed super comfortable as it was. Great location near downtown Austin at a great price. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djaffestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laredo TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I am going to stay that this good hotel for what I paid... in like any other hotel their are pro's and con's here are some... enjoy...
PRO:
1) Fridge / Microwave / Coffee Maker / Alarm Clock
2) Comp. WIFI is always good
3) In door Jaquzie / luckily no one was using it b/c it was public
4) Fast maintenance personal and very friendly

CON:
1) I was promised a King from the Night Manager 3 weeks before the stay, b/c of a mistake on the booking, but for some strange reason my Room was given away and I had to stay in a double bed

2) No FREE BREAKFAST I was under the impression I was until the wait staff follow me and advise me I had to pay... it was embarrassing... but I was never advice that I had to pay full price for breakfast

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelairlines17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin NW - Arboretum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Address: 11617 Research Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-4031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Austin
#21 Business Hotel in Austin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Austin NW/Arboretum hotel which boasts an ideal location in the Northwest Arboretum while also giving you prime location to The Domain shopping in Austin. We offer complimentary WiFi as well as clean, spacious rooms to make you feel right at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
Hilton Austin
Austin Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing