We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonnie Rait”
Review of The Moody Theater

The Moody Theater
Ranked #37 of 325 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bonnie Rait”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

State of the Art venue for performance, Bonnie Rait of course superior. I have attended many concerts at Moody during SXSW, cannot say enough about this facility. If all you did was stand on the balcony overlooking 2nd street, it would be a score!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    17
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place....”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A truly great place to visit, iconic and fun venue for a private party. The food quality was amazing, W hotel was the caterer we chose. It was especially fun having the auditorium/theater opened up. I wasn't sure if people would use the space but many did come in and sit in the seats and had wonderful conversations. John Legend performed a few days earlier (would have loved to have seen him), Fiona Apple didn't make her show busted at the border. I look forward to another experience and a show the next time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelTwin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really nice theatre!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went to see Lyle Lovett and had second row seats on the floor. I don't think there really is a bad seat in the theatre. Very, very nice venue! Had dinner across the street before the show at the "Taverna" and then just walked across the street to the show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Creek, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue, Austin "Must See"”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was our first time going to this ACL Live venue and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing Vince Gill last night. The theater is beautiful and the acoustics are amazing. We sat in the mezzanine (which I will do again next time) and had a great view. In looking for tips beforehand on this site and others wish more had mentioned places to eat before the show . . . So, we ended up parking over near Truluck's and eating there. WAY too expensive and the food not so great. Spent $300 for the two of us. Geeze! Next time we will eat at Trace which is right beside the ACL or the new pizza and pasta place around the corner (Coal Vines) both places were busy but more convenient. Lots of stairs up to the main entrance but the elevator is around the corner near Coal Vines. I dressed up ((for our date night in the big city) but many wore shorts and jeans which is the norm in Austin. Lots of girls had their cowboy boots on! Will definitely go back to see other shows.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywino99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moody Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Moody Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing