We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening of Mediterranean inspired cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Malta

Cafe Malta
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Malta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #200 of 3,670 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brodie Lane
Transit: William Cannon & Brodie
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening of Mediterranean inspired cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

A blend of Mediterranean dishes in an intimate setting sums up Cafe Malta. The service was very good and many of the dishes hit their mark. The tables are made up plainly but the creativity in the menu more than offsets that. The restaurant has a large board of daily specials that added some nice options, e.g., cauliflower soup and onion tart, to the menu. The waiter helped us select a nice wine that kept everyone happy. Started out with PEI mussels (huge bowl full, nicely seasoned, but a couple of off-tasting mussels), brisket ravioli (fantastic clean taste - highly recommended) and gnocchi (overcooked and way too salty since it was smothered in gorgonzola - returned to the kitchen) as appetizers. That was followed by salads: Autumn Apple Salad (generous bed of dinosaur kale, apples, pecans and blue cheese with a light dressing), the Levant (very good, albeit a bit small) and the grilled watermelon (nothing to write home about taste-wise and missing obvious signs of the advertised pickled rind ). Main courses were paella (more mussels, squid, shrimp and fish and a large bed of spanish rice - above average), the Maltese chicken (very good and generous portion) and the seasonal lasagna (really interesting tasty vegetarian version - highly recommended). Deserts were creme brûlée (nice with a twist as it was infused with spicy chili powder) and flour less chocolate cake (really yummy with a side of apple-pear compote). Coffee and espresso were all done up correctly. Prices were reasonable for the quality of food and service. With the exception of the gnocchi, the few strange tasting mussels,and the uninspired watermelon salad, the remainder of the food was very good to excellent. Overall, three thumbs up from our table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Met_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great appetizers, hit and miss on entrees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We enjoyed most of the appetizers with one questionable. The hummus was delicious, Levant salads were tasty, as was the gnocchi. The one appetizer that had problems was the brisket ravioli, the pesto sauce overpowered the taste of the brisket, both had great flavor but did not compliment each other. The ratatouille was good but have enjoyed better polenta. The Maltese chicken was the hit of the meal. The staff was very pleasant and helpful with a nice decor, especially loved the painting of the boats.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or weekend brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here twice and both experiences were very good. We have had the grilled steak salad (lambatello), the brisket ravioli, and the eggs Malta. All of the food we have sampled has been very tasty, original, and fresh. The prices are quite reasonable and they have daily specials.

This was really a strip mall surprise and a pleasant experience when you're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank garlinr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
303 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a small restaurant in a strip mall. The restaurant itself is very nice and the waiter was very attentive and helpful. The portion sizes were more European, but that was OK. The chicken pie I had was very mediocre. My husband enjoyed the restaurant a lot more than I did and he had a pork dish which he thought was very good. We were going to share, but had no indication that the pork dish was very spicy. I do not eat spicy so I just ate the pie. I do not think it is a place that we will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gbwcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love the Tex-Med idea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We went here upon a recommendation from a friend and REALLY enjoyed it!! We were here on a Monday around 6PM so there was of course no wait and happy hour specials were still available. My friend had given us the heads up that portion sizes are small to moderate so we opted for a happy hour drink and appetizer to start. Since it wasn't busy we took our time dining and decided what we wanted as entrees. The wait staff was attentive and was well informed about specials and made helpful recommendations as this was our first visit here. Everything was excellent!! We were both fully satisfied but had to try the basil feta peach cobbler. It was amazing! Good experience here; we made reservations for their next Tex-Med wine pairing. Hoping that goes as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank breazer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Malta also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing