We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you need a place to just crash, it's okay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
Ranked #147 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you need a place to just crash, it's okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

But if you want to stay more than two days? Run...

The room was as plain as you could possibly get. The hardwood floors were almost put in as fast as possible (maybe they raced?). I didn't walk on it after I took a shower, instead scooted across the floor with my towel. After getting in bed, the towel was black on the side touching the floor.

Comforter was something from a garage sale, clean, but I had to laugh at it... and speaking of garage sale, I think the TV came from one. I swear, it's not worth $5. The REMOTE was worth more. It was about a 12 inch tube TV from the 1990s.

There was no shampoo, conditioner, one bar of soap. The shower did have good pressure but the way the show curtain was installed, much of the water found itself on the floor. Pretty amazing actually.

If you want a place to just crash for the night, it's fine. If you want a place to stay a couple of days? No way in hell. I guess since they put stone on the outside of the hotel instead of the old basic look they up'ed the price $10-15? The lady at the front desk was VERY nice. That was the one thing that was good about this Motel 6. Of course, it's Motel 6 so why should I expect too much :)

Room Tip: Find another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TishomingoSith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
9
11
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place was horrible. Roaches in the bed! Filthy floors! Leaking sewage from the toilet! Thugs hanging out drinking in the parking lot in the middle of the night! The GM was not suprised or concerned when we checked out the next day and demanded a refund.
There are lots of hotels in Austin. Pick another place.

Room Tip: Try Priceline, "Name your price" for Austin. Austin is a small town. Where ever you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasrain76051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I drove up and was really surprised. It really didn't look anywhere near as nice as the pictures made it out to be. There were a lot of people just hanging out infront of their rooms, kinda shady like. It is right on the highway and you can hear it. The wifi is pretty slow and you can only pay for it by going to the office. After two nights here I upgraded. It's clean but there isn't much to look at. The TV is like a 20" CRT, been a really long time since I've seen one. One weird thing was instead of exchanging the towels they just took them. Left me with just a hand towel after I had hung up the two I used. Prolly won't come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelfdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place was loud, noisy, and had very hard beds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tp5970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Never had an issue with the front office, but if I had known the condition of the area I would not have booked here with kids. This Motel 6 is located right off the I-35, so depending on where your room is, you might not get the best sleep (my room was right by the freeway, and I constantly heard trucks breaking, and cars racing throughout the night). It was extremely hard communicating with housekeeping because they understood very little English (had to play charades for some of the things I was asking for). Taking my dog out at night made me feel like I was living back in the ghetto, I saw some pretty shady guys, and some promiscuously dressed girls/women. The internet connection is also extremely slow, and not worth the $3/day fee.

In regards to the room, the wood flooring was nice. The door, though, was not properly sealed, so bugs got in through the bottom, along with LOTS of water when people came by to hose down the walkway. The bathroom hinges were also rusty, and the door was extremely hard to open and close (and couldn't be locked at all).

On the plus side, a lot of shopping areas are close by, and there was no pet fee for having my dog with us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kusakumo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This motel 6 is just wonderful. It is new, very clean and the appointments in the room go way beyond what I would have expected in a motel. Many hotels I have stayed in are not as roomy and as well appointed. The room even has a ceiling fan and a selection of pillows for sleeping. Breakfast buffet in the morning was great and had just about anything anyone would have wanted for breakfast. Owners and employees are very nice. Plan to stay there whenever I go back to Austin, TX regardless of where I have business in the city. The traffic to get there is more than worth the wonderful stay..

Room Tip: Make a reservation early, they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sataviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

This location is right off of the highway...so it is very noisy and we were woken several times by trucks using their air brakes in the morning. Our room had wood floors and was nice by Motel 6 standards. The man at the front desk (night window, actually) was very friendly but I wish he had offered a room on the back side of the motel. That would have helped with the noise. Overall the stay was good for the weekday price (weekend was a little high) and the location was very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oobleckclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#162 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Property: Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas
Address: 5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ Of Texas Hotel Austin
Motel Six Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing