We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Ranked #128 of 200 Hotels in Austin
1 review
“Great Experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rooms were amazing and service was outstanding. Would definitely stay here again. Comfortable beds, big tv, lots of space in room. Great breakfast. Amazing hotel for the cheap price. Front desk receptionists were very nice and helped out with anything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahrukhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    57
    54
    36
    38
See reviews for
74
39
12
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel was clean and everything in the rooms worked properly. Workers were nice and courteous. Loved the location because it helped us get to our event in a timely fashion. Hotel even helped call a cab for us to go downtown so that was a great convenience that caused us to make our trip a lot easier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vthaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just stayed at country inn suites this weekend with a couple friends, we got a room with 2 queen beds. They had great service.The beds are nice and super comfy. The rooms are also pretty big. Loved the flat screen TV. The A/C worked perfectly. Great location.They also have a computer in the front you can use with a printer plus free Wifi. Overall I had a great experience at this hotel and I would def recommend this hotel to all of you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Came down from Wyoming for the Lone Star Roundup car show in Austin. My car club booked several rooms here, and the staff was very accommodating. From my neck of the woods, I considered the cost of the room a little high, but for the Austin area, the price was very reasonable. Traffic in Austin is horrible and luckily this hotel was close to our destination. Getting in and out was not a problem. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Awesome pillows...Thougth about taking them home with me, but didn't. Hot tub by the pool was relaxing. Breakfast wasn't too bad by hotel standards. Seen better but seen far worse elsewhere. All in all the hotel made a very long weekend in Austin comfortable and enjoyable. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just spent 4 nights here during South-by-Southwest Music Festival because there were no other hotel rooms in the city available (literally). The accommodations were clean but dated and run down. The bed was surprisingly comfortable in my second floor room but I didn't get much sleep as the walls are so thin that I could hear people in all of the rooms around me. The front desk staff was often lounging on the couch in the lobby and had to get up to come help us at the front desk, and the cleaning staff were often just hanging out in the hallway chatting - maybe that's their definition of a casual work environment!?@?

They provided a free continental breakfast each morning that seemed to draw in a lot of folks but I ate offsite so I cannot comment on the food.

The location is right of the freeway, but surrounded by some scary houses, a fortune teller business and some vacated restaurants. There is drug store, fast food or anything within walking distance. You have to drive at least 5-8 minutes to get to any regular food establishments or a Walmart in case you forgot anything.

Overall it was a clean bed and a hot shower. No bells or whistles.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the halls would be best - less noise from slamming doors and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brashsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Carlson at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings in regards to your stay at our property. We are sorry the front desk was not attentive -as this is something we take very seriously- we have since spoken with our team so this does not happen again.

Please stop by so we can make your next stay with us extra special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just stayed at the Country Inn in Austin for the SXSW conference and I would recommend it. It is clean, the staff is nice and the room have acceptable A/C units and the showers have adequate pressure. Tiny gym but enough to break a sweat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyrockNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for 1 night with friends after we moved out from another terrible hotel during our weekend in Austin. The room was clean with 2 queen size beds, bathroom was big and clean too with good amenities. The room had a microwave and an LCD TV. Breakfast was very basic, bagels, cheese and waffles. We went down at 9 and most of the food was gone.
Other than the breakfast, the hotel is a good one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmooraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#149 of 200 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
St. Johns
Hampton Inn Austin-North at I-35 and Hwy 183
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn Austin North
#139 of 200 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Address: 7400 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North Hotel Austin
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Austin-North
Country Inn Austin North
Austin Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing