We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about”
Review of Buster's Bar B Que - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Buster's Bar B Que
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice people, good service, but very average BBQ. Too many choices around here to make it a favorite. Small portions too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arizonafoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Buster's was awesome for rehearsal dinner.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Buster's did an outstanding job on our rehearsal dinner. The outdoor Beer Garden was the perfect atmosphere. The BBQ was delicious, I loved the turkey and the beans and potatoe salad were the perfect side. The cobbler with BlueBell ice cream was outstanding and Mary and her crew took great care of us. If you love BBQ, try Buster's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“In the upper tier of Austin BBQ restaurants.”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Ausin has a lot of BBQ restaurants - some are good, some are awful. I'm happy to report that Buster's is in the first group. I've gotten their "family meal" carryout a couple of times, usually with lean brisket and pulled pork - half a pound of each - creamy cole slaw, and fries (you have a choice of over a dozen sides). The meal also includes sauce, bread, onions, pickles, and jalapenos; it's alway been good, feeds 3, maybe 4 people, and only runs about $20 + tax.

Ambience in the restaurant itself is VERY casual - you order at the counter, and find yourself a seat. They'll call you when your order is ready. Nothing fancy, it's just a place to get good Texas BBQ. (There's a nice deck alongside for outdoor dining in good weather.) Sometimes they have "specials" which are listed on a chalk board as you walk in.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HankBAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try the turkey!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is an all around great bbq place. The turkey, however, is one of my favorite. You won't find turkey like this anywhere else.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank victoria_austin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Choose the Yardbird!”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This little strip restaurant in Lakeway offers a gorgeous deck, under an enormous live oak, for you to kick back and relax. Now let me tell you how to order from this restaurant.
For two people choose this : Start with the chicken and sausage gumbo ( yummy) then I am not crazy for thebrisket-it seems dry, sorry, but it is-and pick the succulent yardbird, which is smoked chikcen. It's only $9 for the platter with 2 sides-opt for the fried okra (tell them not to salt it! or you'll wish you had), go for the mac and cheese (just great!), then take the peach cobbler as your finish. If you'll put 2 longnecks with this and take them to the deck I guarantee it's plenty of food for 2 people and you'll smack your lips as you leave. The total price the way I suggested-1 platter, 2 extra sides, and the libations, with a decent tip, you are still out of there for under $25. You can't beat this deal!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texastravelers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing