We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Corazon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Corazon at Castle Hill - CLOSED

Corazon at Castle Hill
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I love Corazon!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The beef tenderloin at Corazon is one of the best meals I've ever had in a restaurant. Having cut his teeth (so to speak) at Ruth's Chris in New Orleans, the chef knows his way with beef.This is Black Angus, free range, hormone and steroid free as beef is meant to be. Amazing. But then there are the Chicken Rnchiladas Suizas. I dream about them. Or for something lighter, the crab cakes with Caesar salad. These crab cakes have a secret ingredient...crab! Not fillers. And oh, my...the chocolate truffle heart for dessert. Or the wonderful bread pudding with Mexican Brandy Espresso Sauce. And if you like a good, spicy gumbo, this is the place. And with it all, hibiscus tea. Very refreshing!

Besides the actual food, I love that they allow you to split a plate. There is an additional charge of $3, but that includes a serving of sides and sauce for each person. So you each get your own beautiful plate with just half the entree. Perfect if you and your companion are not big eaters.

And the other best part is that there is parking. Since we live in the 'burbs, the hassle of parking downtown just takes a lot of fun out of the experience of going most anywhere downtown. But at Corazon, the experience is wonderful from the time we pull into the parking lot until the time we pull out.

So good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LonghornNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Complex Flavors - It is All Good!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We've been to Corazon a couple times now and it is simply outstanding. The food is a bit difficult to characterize - interior Mexican is a start, but the elements they add bring it up a notch, and there are items that you simply won't find on an interior Mexican menu.

Online reservations are easy to make, and the staff is very helpful in getting you oriented to the menu, which changes seasonally.

We haven' had anything bad. Some notes about what we've really liked:

-The house salad is a fresh combination of greens, jicama, beets, and a smoky-pecan vinaigrette. Simple and wonderful! There is a warm empanada on the side of the salad that has a cheesy/starchy filling that is oh so good. I could eat a whole plate of those (and they do come as a side order if you have that desire).

-Chips and salsa: fresh and good.

-The pork tenderloin was served on a bed of mashed potatoes that was sitting in a spicy tomatillo sauce. There were vegetables on the side and a glaze drizzled over the tenderloin. Perfectly seasoned and cooked.

-The voodoo coconut fried shrimp was crispy and flavorful.

-It is, surprisingly, a kid-friendly place. The kids menu has several more traditional items (quesadillas, for example) and even simple buttered pasta.

-The wine list is pretty extensive and the bar serves up some creative cocktails. I tried the mojito this time and it was good.

When the restaurant is full it can be a little bit noisy. There are some quieter corners. Expect to pay $20-$25 for most entrees.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MALDRIDGERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I'm usually craving it.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm not sure if my review will add anything but I'll give it a try.

I absolutely love this place. It is one of my favorite restaurants in Austin. Interesting and delicious margaritas. Great service. And the food is something that you will randomly crave from time to time. It's also something that will impress your friends that come to visit you from out of town. Desserts? I've tried several and can't decide what my favorite is.

One of the other things I love is the decor, especially the life-sized talavera calavera ladies. I want one for my house! I also love the cactus photos all over the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If I only had a last meal it would be Corazon”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been dining at this resturant for many years. The Shrimp Enchaladas is one of the best meals I have ever had. I often remark that if I had only one last meal this is what it would be. Very complex flavors and beautiful on the plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imprimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“unexpected! excellent!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we bought a coupon to dine with groupon. excpecting a so so restaurant. after getting lost we finally got seated with our reservation, although we were a tad late. the staff were great in helping us choose the meal and drink. we started with the corazon house sala. for entrees we ordered the black angus beef tenderloin and new york strip with red wine sauce. to die for! we enjoyed our meal so far, lots of flavor and cook to perfection. we finish off with the dessert Mocha Toffee Torte with coffee and tea. compliments to the chief for making our dinner a great experience and to the waiting staff use attention in refilling our water and constantly removing used plates. it made our stay in austin a lot more enjoyable than expected. highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckfrndshrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corazon at Castle Hill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing