We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in a slab”
Review of Bacon - CLOSED

Bacon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Twitter: @BaconRestaurant Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BaconAustin
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Heaven in a slab”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

First - I am honest about the fact I love bacon. And they had a selections of basic foods that incorporated bacon. Its not like they are sneaking it into a fancy meal. No this is like - bacon and eggs, BLT, Waffles and bacon, etc. It is not an adventuresome menu - just good solid standards that you would expect to be served with bacon. Here is the cool part though: on our visit we had three types of bacon to chose from. We loved the house bacon that is smoked on premises but they also had hickory smoked and an asian inspired bacon. If you like bacon you should go.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RunningBeer1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wooooo Pig Soooooie”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

By far the best breakfast whole in the wall in Austin. The smell of fried bacon hits you outside and you wander towards it with eyes closed and nose in the air. Be prepared for bacon cheesy goodness with a smile. You can get grits with biscuts and gravy or a fried egg n' bacon sandwich if you want to keep it simple. It's all good and priced for the pounds of meat you'll get. MMMMMMMGGGGGOOOOOOOD!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ode to a pig”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Broken Yolk BLT--so huge I was embarrassed when I was actually able to take a bite. I ordered it with the house bacon, not one of the specialty "bacons of the day" and I wish I would have asked for it to be extra crispy. The house bacon is thick slab and like eating a pork loin instead of strips of bacon. But, it had intense bacon flavor--rich, smokey. The BLT sandwich would feed a hungry, strapping, teenage boy. It could easily be split between two adults as could the order of fries, or should I say bowl-o-fries. I am definitely going to order the bacon Belgian waffle on the next visit. I was lusting after it as it was being eaten at the next table. We were there at prime lunch time and the place was packed yet, our food was out to us in under 20 minutes. That's not a bad wait and, with a seat near the picture windows up front, there's a lot to see and talk about. The parking lot is tiny so, if you get there too late, you'll have to scurry for a street slot.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thick & Juicy Bacon!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A co-worker and I checked this place out one Friday for lunch. Keep in mind it is near downtown and the available parking is lacking. Luckily, we got there closer to 1pm so we were able to find a close spot. I got the Best BLT and was given 2 different types of bacon to choose from. One is a hickory bacon with wasabi flavor. Since I can't have spicy, I had the latter. It was still delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Model”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This restaurant is a cool place to grab a bit to eat. I love the flavored bacon that they serve each day. To anyone who loves meat, I recommend you give this place a try!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gliding_Revolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing