We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, clean and excellent amenities”
Review of Heywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heywood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at the Heywood Hotel for 4 nights in April 2014. The room was nice - updated, clean and stocked with nice soap/shampoo/products.

This is an older home that has been converted into a hotel with a large addition added to the back to create more rooms. We stayed in the addition and were happy with the overall hotel.

Complementary coffee/tea were provided in the mornings. They do not have a breakfast, but there was a breakfast taco place a few blocks down that we'd walk to to get $2 potato/bacon/cheese/egg tacos and they were really good.

I was a bit concerned about the location - it looks like it's in an older community with some rundown homes, but it was safe and we walked around the neighborhood at night to/from restaurants and didn't have any problems.

The best part about our stay was the complementary bikes that the hotel let us use. We kept our car parked at the hotel (for free!) the entire time we were in Austin and rode the bikes all over the city. There are a lot of bike lanes on the street and we had no problems getting around safely. Plenty of bike racks to lock the bikes up while you visit restaurants, the State Capitol, etc. We saw a lot of the city we probably won't have seen just because we were on bikes - plus it was great exercise.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us with restaurant recommendations and places to visit.

Overall, I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Can't say enough nice things about it!

Room Tip: The rooms in the additon are larger and quieter because they are farther away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 146 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

If you're looking to experience Austin in a cool neighborhood but still close to downtown way, this is a great place to stay. Walking distance to great food (restaurants and food trucks), music and getting a non-polished but safe Austin vibe.This was my 2nd visit to Austin. The first time I stayed downtown, but decided to try a different area this time. I'm very glad I did and would stay here again. The staff gave wonderful recommendations, and it's a pleasant 15 min walk to NE Austin near Franklin's and just under 10 min walk to 6th st of east Austin. Room2 is very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Having read all the wonderful reviews of this relatively new hotel, we were excited to stay here. The location is great, the staff very helpful, and the bedding very comfortable. The lighting was great which is unusual, and the boutique toiletries in the bathroom a nice touch. My only complaint, and the reason I can't rate this higher, is the AC. The heating/AC unit in the deluxe room(#2) is just awful. It cools fine but doesn't dehumidify. After the first night our clothes were damp. The staff was helpful and pointed out a dehumidifier mode on the remote. That helped for a few hours then it turned off. Frustrated on our second night, we finally turned it off. Fortunately it was unseasonably cool, and that was much better. I'm not sure what the solution is but it needs fixing.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank phmokda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy S, Owner at Heywood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

David, we were so happy to have you stay with us while you were visiting your family in Austin. I am so sorry your AC unit was giving you trouble. Thank you very much for bringing the issue to our attention. Upon learning that there was a problem, we went to work to diagnose the issue and get everything back to normal.

I'm very sorry you were inconvenienced in any way. Sleep quality is extremely important to us. If we have the opportunity to host you again, we want to make sure you are completely satisfied. Please feel free to get in touch with me personally when you book your reservation.

We encourage all guests to please bring any issues to our attention, no matter the hour, so we can keep you comfortable and happy. If you lose sleep, we lose sleep! And as a quick explanation to other guests, the humidity in the room was caused by the hot water in the bathroom. This room has a deep soaking tub, and all rooms feature a constant supply of hot water through our on-demand hot water system. Our hotel offers a home-like environment; please use the bathroom fan while bathing to help control humidity.

David, I am happy to hear you otherwise enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you next time you are in Austin for a visit! Thanks for staying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I love the East Village in Austin, and wanted to stay in the neighborhood. My internet search turned up a gem: the Heywood Hotel. Wonderfully and quirkily designed out of concrete, it had the feeling of a modern day Hacienda. My room was very comfortable and and there hadn't been a cold snap during my visit, I would have enjoyed my patio. There are plenty of great restaurants and fabulous cocktail lounges just a short walk away. I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were doing a birthday trip to Austin and got off to a rough start -- the flight out was cancelled and re-booked for the next day. When we arrived at the Heywood there was a complimentary bottle of wine to get things started in the right direction. And, they generously offered to give us a break on the cancellation charge. Very sweet of them. That was just the beginning. They provided us with multiple dining and music options and helped us "refine" some of the recommendations we had gotten online or from friends.

The hotel itself is lovely and very comfortable and located in a funky and fun neighborhood convenient to downtown. They have great bikes available and you can easily reach a wonderful trail running beside Lady Bird Lake.

Lovely staff and hotel, very comfortable, very nicely designed, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cordoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in room 3 at the Heywood for four nights in June 2013 and wish we'd stayed longer. Like some others, we were concerned about the East Austin location but it is brilliant! So many great spots to eat and hang out (Cenote, East SIde King, Hillside Farmacy, Rainey St bars...). The lovely staff were always on hand to offer suggestions, all of which turned out to be fabulous. The room was beautiful and it was great to see Kevin Murphy products in the bathroom. I have to admit... I stole quite a bit! The mini bar was stocked with Shiner Bocks for $3 each!!! The most ridiculously cheap minibar I have ever seen. There is a bus stop just across the road and all trips are $1 (at least, they were in June) and the buses are air conditioned. It was so easy to get around. We did hire a car for a couple of days as we drove to Gruene to tube down the river. Also brilliant!
I can't imagine staying anywhere else on return trips to Austin. We hope to one day take a group of friends and book the whole place out. WE WILL BE BACK! xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateShani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Heywood for a long weekend. We'd never been to Austin before and mostly relied on trip advisor and friends' recommendations. I was a little reluctant about the neighborhood before we got there - I wasn't sure if we'd feel too distant from town or too isolated. Turns out it was the perfect spot - east Austin really does feel like the most interesting and exciting place to be in Austin right now. Downtown is a little too touristy and south congress is too much of a scene. The staff are all great, they go out of their way to make sure you have a nice stay. Definitely take them up on recommendations for places to eat and drink, especially in the neighborhood (I highly recommend the white horse for live music). The place itself is as nice if not nicer than it looks in the pics. We stayed in one of the queen rooms upstairs and because the rooms are all accessed from a courtyard, our room felt very private. Was very nice, and we had more room than I thought we would from the pics. We took advantage of the free bike rental - really a great feature. We walked all over east Austin, and for downtown and south congress we either biked or drove. I can't recommend the place enough. The neighborhood is quirky (ie they have a funeral home for a neighbor) but if you like to be in an area that is authentic and eclectic and charming, this is the place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Congress Hotel
#16 of 203 in Austin
302 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 203 in Austin
767 reviews
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
529 reviews
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#51 of 203 in Austin
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hotel

Address: 1609 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78702-4455
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $249 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artisanal boutique hotel and unique Austin experience. Half upcycled bungalow, half courtyard hotel, the Heywood embodies the intangible elements that define Austin: Creative. Easy going. Thoughtful. Cool. Located smack dab in the middle of the vibrant East Austin neighborhood and surrounded by local restaurants, lounges, and shops, this modern boutique hotel is an easy walk to downtown, Sixth Street, the Convention Center, and Lady Bird Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Heywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing