We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book this hotel immediately!”
Review of Heywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heywood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

To say Heywood Hotel staff go above and beyond is an understatement. From the second you step into this hotel, your experience is crafted towards your particular purpose for visiting Austin. The location couldn't be better either as this 7 room hotel is nestled within the up-and-coming neighborhood of east Austin. Stay here for work or pleasure and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are incredibly comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

When I found Heywood Hotel, I made my decision to take a short trip to Austin.

The property is tastefully done. It is simple and modern design with comfort. The staff was friendly, helpful and thorough. Having complementary bikes on site is a great service. I truly enjoyed the eclectic neighborhood eateries and shops of East Austin.

Thanks to Haywood‘s hospitality, my visit to Austin turned out so wonderful that Austin became a return to place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a fabulous and relaxing time. Modern design with great touches all around property. The bedding was fantastic. Kathy was there at check in and made every request with ease. Great lounging area upstairs where you can watch the parrots in the trees and drink a bottle of wine!
Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Room 6 is choice. Quite and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Heywood and were thrilled with our "mini-vacation!" The location is terrific, as the (very eclectic) East Austin neighborhood has lots of little interesting pockets to explore, and is quite close to downtown, the South Congress strip (only about a 5-10 min drive), and even closer to Rainey Street which is basically a great hipster hive of bungalows transformed into interesting bars.

The property is immaculate, and modern yet comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. One of my favorite features was the free bike rental: my wife and I took the bikes out both mornings of our stay, with an easy ~4 block ride down to the path that circles Town Lake. They give you everything you need, including locks, helmets, and lights.

Overall, it was a great place to relax and use as a home base to explore the trendier bits of Austin.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms. We stayed in room 6 -- "king patio" -- which has its own littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveRFBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Heywood is a gorgeous space in a great location. The staff and owner are friendly and very helpful. They offer complimentary (good!) coffee, tea, bikes, swimming towels, etc. and the mattress and bedding are super comfy.

A great place to stay in a great city!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at the Heywood for a few nights a year ago and have been dreaming about it ever since.
AMAZING beds. Great staff. Nice touches that make you feel welcome. Centrally located. Chic but comfortable.
I will only stay there when I go to Austin.

Room Tip: I loved my little patio off my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our stay at the Heywood was absolutely wonderful, and we LOVED the east side. It is filled with gems: wonderful farm-to-table food, a great farmers' market, wonderful shops with hand-crafted items, and fantastic music. The hotel -- which is so soothing -- offers a list of favorites in the area. We stuck to that list and had a terrific time. Breakfast tacos at Veracruz ARE a must! Drinks at the Heywood Pharmacy were delightful. Dinner at the Blue Dahlia Bistro was delicious. We ventured to the west side for dinner at Uchi, which was one of the best meals we've ever eaten. The Heywood is the perfect hotel for exploring Austin, no matter what your interests. It is very easy to access, and the people are wonderfully helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 201 in Austin
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,008 reviews
1.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 201 in Austin
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hotel

Address: 1609 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78702-4455
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $240 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artisanal boutique hotel and unique Austin experience. Half upcycled bungalow, half courtyard hotel, the Heywood embodies the intangible elements that define Austin: Creative. Easy going. Thoughtful. Cool. Located smack dab in the middle of the vibrant East Austin neighborhood and surrounded by local restaurants, lounges, and shops, this modern boutique hotel is an easy walk to downtown, Sixth Street, the Convention Center, and Lady Bird Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing