We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”
Review of Barley Swine

Barley Swine
Ranked #138 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Zilker Park
Cross street: Between Mary and Oltorf on Lamar
Austin
2 reviews
“Best in town”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the best meals in Austin. You cannot beat the price for the quality. The attention to every detail was top notch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    42
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US OF A
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Inventive and delicious”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food from a very creative menu. Small plates that are great for sharing and allow you to try everything on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDIDDYTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
428 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a table on Open Table and are glad we did. All 41 seats were occupied shortly after the restaurant opened at 6 pm on a Tuesday. We opted to sit at the bar and watch the action in the kitchen. Everyone from the hostesses to the bartender and the servers were super friendly. We noticed however that the chefs were very intent and intense in the food prep and we didn't see a smile cracked by any of them during our visit. We got a thorough description of each dish as they were brought to us. We ordered two specials of the day, one being salmon, poblano, tomato, masa churro, and mescal ($15), and smoked lamb (a bit too salty) with watermelon, goat cheese custard, and pickled eggplant (undetectable)($11). We also ordered three menu items, soft shelled crab (actually about a half of a soft shelled crab) with zucchini, deviled egg, nori, basil, and peach ($13), pig, crispy trotter, refried lentils, yogurt, date, and celery ($15), and rabbit, pretzel, mustard, green tomato, and green bean slaw ($14). All dishes were works of art and were delicious. We were recommended to order three or four dishes per person, but the five we ordered between the two of us were plenty. An earlier reviewer mentioned a $15 BYO wine corkage fee. It's now $20. We also had a very nice Garnacha ($10 glass/$37 bottle). The wine list is eclectic and bottles range from $37 to $500. We have wanted to come here since it opened but have been put off by having to show up and wait outside in line. This time of year it's around 100 degrees at 5 pm. So it was nice to be able to book a table. We are certainly glad we came but with all the fantastic restaurants in Austin to try, we'll probably make this a one-time experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a great dinner with several small plates. Each was unquie and prepared with precession. We sat at th bar and were able to watch the chefs in action. The service was great, well informed and professional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lick your plate clean”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Oh wow. The food was so good they gave me a mini spatula to lick my plate clean, surprisingly not an uncommon thing for them to do! They don't take reservations so we went in, put our name down and she said it would be 45 mins. We asked if it could be an hour so we could go get drinks and she was happy to oblige. She was the start of a wonderful meal. We came and were immediatly sat at the bar in front of the female bartender. She was so friendly and personable. She gave great wine and drink recommendations that didnt feel like she was just trying to up sell us. They were personalized recommendations. She coursed everything for us perfectly. She was cool and collected and on top of everything. Aside from our great service and the wonderful food running staff, the food was indescribably delicious. It was creative, locally sourced, scrumtous little pieces of art that were so good I licked the plate clean (literally with my tiny spatula). Notable is that the chef/onwer was the expo and touched every dish that went out. It's not often to see such attention to detail from the owner. It was a nice surprise. The place is tiny and has a great, fun relaxed atmoshpere. If we lived here we'd go in often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Swine also viewed

 

Been to Barley Swine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing