We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trout and Duck Were Good”
Review of Foreign & Domestic

Foreign & Domestic
Ranked #379 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Hyde Park
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Trout and Duck Were Good”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went at 5:30 the Friday immediately before Memorial Day and were the first people there. Rain falling very hard. We're 2 men, 1 age 55 and the other 53. Server was very good, we were never rushed. The place was busy when we left but never full, I suspect due to the rain and they don't really have a very large indoor area to wait. Tried the pop overs which were ok but I don't quite understand why so many raves. They are huge though. Several tables ordered a goat cheese appetizer I think I would liked more. I had trout, partner ordered duck. Both very good, the trout was hardly raw. It was cooked perfectly. Each of us had a drink before dinner and shared a bottle of house wine. If I remember correctly the total check was approx. $100. We had no complaints and would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Westshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude and undercooked food.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Short wait, great service but lousy food, rare trout? really?? Unfriendly management. So many great places in Austin. Once was enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank trixie1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food, and service makes for a poor overall experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Being a regular watcher of Diners Drive ins and Dives, I was excited to eat here. While the pop overs were stellar, our dinner for four was inconsistent. My risotto was great, but my friend's trout, while seared properly was raw in the middle indicating that the had been put on the grill while frozen. When my friend pointed out that the fish was raw, she was told that this was how the chef served it - rare. It was raw not rare. The staff did offer to cook it more or bring her something else, but by this time, she had lost her appetite so it was simply sent back. We were determined to have a good time, having ordered both cocktails and 2 bottles of wine. But I should have known something was up when the waitor pushed to take our food order with our drink order. I was exceedingly disappointed with both the service and managements attitude that they had the right to take our money and then rush us out so they could turn the table. Even as we paying the check (and finishing our wine) we were asked to hurry because people were waiting (tho there was another open table for 4) . When we talked to the owner he didn't feel this was inappropriate, in fact, it was done at his direction. Needless to say, we will not be going back or recommending it to our friends

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia20171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great burger and pop overs. go there”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Went to this place as a single diner, choosing to sit and the Chef's bar. I was able to walk right in with no wait. I started out with the Black pepper and gruyere pop overs, which did not dissapoint. Although being by myself two pop overs was a bit much but I did my very best to devour both of them. My entree was the waygu beef burger. This thing was 3/4lb with fried portk belly on top. Holy smokes I had every intention of not eating the whole thing after the pop over debacle but in the end there was nothing left on my plate and I needed a nap. The soux chefs were friendly and had a great conversation with them when they could afford the distraction.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank choptopmerk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
504 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fun, Innovative”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A wonderful exprerience sitting at the Chef's bar. Innovative cuisine combinations, the black peeper and gruiyere turnovers were killer, the burger awesome, the service tremendous and overall a fun foodie establishment. It is great to see younger folks working very hard to bring their vision and concepts to the fore, and Austin is a difficult town to do so. Example Tuesday night Packed to the outside seating in the reformed garage, go, you will enjoy, relax its meant to be fun!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foreign & Domestic also viewed

 

Been to Foreign & Domestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing