We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food and Accurate Take out”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Muangthai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #1,526 of 3,684 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gladstone, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Accurate Take out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was craving Thai food (actually, the baby in my tummy was demanding Thai food if we would like to be accurate!) when I placed a take-out order. To be honest, I was a bit hesitant as I am not from Austin, am staying at my in-laws and they are not Thai restaurant goers and did not have a recommendation.

This place had chicken with a garlic sauce which is what my baby in me was demanding. I also ordered their chicken pad Thai to act as a decoy for the others. I knew that once they smelled the food, they would want some. So to keep them away from the garlic chicken, I would offer the Pad Thai as a sacrifice. (my plan worked!). I ordered it via phone and requested that the garlic chicken be garlicky but not spicy.

My mother-in-law (bless her!) was gracious enough to go and pick it up and bring it home. The aroma was wonderful coming out of the packages. And the taste was fresh and wonderful! The sauce on the garlic chicken was just right! It seeped through to the rice below and the combination was quite satisfying!

Now, being that this was take out, I did not enter the restaurant, I can only comment on the food quality and accuracy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DownInThe906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I was not impressed and will not go back. The staff was nice but the place is dumpy. I guess it is ok for a quick lunch but not a family dinner.

Helpful?
Thank AustinKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food ... freshly prepared, good value, wonderful flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Family outing to a restaurant recommended by a friend of the family. The setting (a rather sad strip mall) was a little off-putting. We shouldn't have been concerned. The restaurant was busy on a weekday night, and many of the patrons were Thai speaking (always a good sign!). The restaurant seems to be run by a Thai family.

The food was excellent, reasonably priced, and obviously freshly prepared and served. The meat and seafood was perfectly cooked. The service was excellent.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to experience fine Thai dining!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food and and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had lunch here when there were not many people in the restaurant. I found the food to be authentic. I had the pork rib (very crispy), spring rolls (very fresh), and the papaya salad (Thai hot). A friend had the pineapple curry. All of the dishes were excellent. I did sample the Pineapple Curry and found it better than any I had before primarily because it was not over-sweet and not spicy hot. One thing is true: they will spice your food to Thai standards. Just emphasize mild if you want it that way. Medium spicy is a hard mark to hit and subjective. (Remember these are Thai chefs). Service was prompt and courteous.
One word of caution: This place is HARD to find. The white sign on the building in the strip mall does not stand out and its easy to pass it by. I am glad we persisted in finding it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is generally good. They do a good job in carrying a large vegetarian elements in the menu. However their scope for improvement lies in Service. I found their service not very pleasing. Despite asking for "medium spicy", we were served very spicy food and my kid could not eat it. Barring that rest was good. I particularly like Coconut based Veg Soup (Don't know what they call it in Thai), Pineapple Fried Rice, Thai Basil Fried Rice, Steamed Rolls and Green Curry. I definitely recommend food with recommendation to improve service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muangthai Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Muangthai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing