We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Lover's”

Turf N Surf Po' Boy
Ranked #158 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eat Lover's”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I used to go here when it was a food truck and it was great then, it is still great now, with the added bonus of a good bar (Lavaca St. Bar) next to it. They also now have a few tables although it is still a take-out place. It doesn’t look like much but it is the food that makes it. The fish is always the freshest anywhere. I recommend the blackened shrimp and the tilapia tacos. Don’t wory about the lines, they move fast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoellaWarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    44
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Meal from a food truck!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Shrimp Po'Boy was amazing! Great conversation with the chef. Everything was great. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenBerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos around!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wide variety of fresh fish available as tacos, po boy, or on a salad topped with fresh slaw and dressing. Very generous portions as 2 people can share 1 order and add a side. I highly recommend the jalapeño hush puppies or sweet potato fries. Very fresh ingredients and sauces. You can't go wrong with ordering anything on the menu and enjoy a beer or cocktail while dining as this place is located within Lavaca Street Bar! Very friendly staff and the owner is in the kitchen!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mmrojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is great food and great fun!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a fun place - we had lunch here after a very unsucessfull night at Manuel,s, a short distance away.This catfish Po boy was a quarter the price and 10 times as good as dinner the night before- plus fun bar still atmosphere. Funky and fun!! The servers are also funny and typical of Austin "weird".
My partner had a fish salad which was great -- lots of food-typical of Texas!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh so good.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I tried the blackened snapper po boy and the grilled mahi mahi tacos. The po boy was really good. There is a TON of fish and the bread and fixin's are all really good. This was was my husband's favorite. My favorite was the tacos. The tortilla and sauce were super awesome. In both cases the fish was super fresh and seasoned well. This would be the FIRST place I would eat if we were in Austin again. The best place we've eaten at during our holiday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cheesecakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf N Surf Po' Boy also viewed

 

Been to Turf N Surf Po' Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing