We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the tacos”

Turf N Surf Po' Boy
Ranked #152 of 3,736 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“go for the tacos”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

You get plenty to eat and a great flavor profile if you like cilantro by ordering the tacos. The girls at Lavaca bar were nice and the atmosphere is very nice. i had the bacon wrapped shrimp tacos and was in heaven with every bite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    45
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
mclean, va
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

It is an informal place where you order, they give you a number and you find a table and wait for them to deliver. Blackened shrimp po' boy was amazing. Lots of shrimp and toppings. If I went again though, I would get the salad as the portion was so large I didn't bother to eat the bread

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nova654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place when you are in Austin!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you want a great meal in Austin please be sure that you stop in to Turf-N-Surf Po boy. Just walking by the restaurant it doesn't look like much but the food is really delicious. The restaurant has a take out window or you can eat inside in the bar which has another name.
My husband and I both ordered the blackened Mahi Mahi tacos which were the best fish tacos that we have ever had. The fish was very fresh and cooked perfectly served on a soft tortilla. They were served with greens on top as well as chopped tomatoes, onions,cilantro and with a most flavorful sauce. We also ordered the sweet potato fries which we also enjoyed very much. Hands down this was our favorite meal in Austin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fentress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos, hands down!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Came to the Lavaca St. Bar on a recommendation where Turf n Surf is now serving food, and OMG, the Mahi tacos are crazy delish! Portion size is big so there's plenty to share, although you may not want to! The fish is incredibly fresh, cooked to perfection and served in large cuts, not shredded up and leaving you looking for the fish. Staff was very friendly and checked on us twice to make sure we were good. This will be the only place in Austin I come for tacos now!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Po Boy in Town”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Austin and read rave reviews about this place. You can go inside the bar and order or you can order from the window outside to go. We got the buffalo shrimp po boy and the shrimp wrapped in bacon po boy (can't remember the name of it) and it was really good!! The prices can be a little high (about $11-12 per po boy), but it is quality food and really filling. Really friendly service too!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf N Surf Po' Boy also viewed

 

Been to Turf N Surf Po' Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing