We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Keep Looking” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Austin Central - North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Austin Central - North
Ranked #150 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Keep Looking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was just passing through for a night and needed a place to plop down for a few hours before a very early flight the next morning. I normally stay at budget motels like Motel 6 because I'm not picky and prefer to save a few bucks, especially in a case like this. When I checked in, I was not asked my smoking preference (non), but I was given a smoking room. Not a big deal, but I know others are very sensitive. There were burn marks on the bedspread and flor. The room was remodeled in the new contemporary look, with fake hardwood floors, a flat screen TV, and updated vanity with raised sink. I liked the look. The worst part came when I tried to take a shower and there was a leak where the showerhead screwed in, resulting in very little water actually coming out and it was not at all adequate for a shower. When I called the front desk to schedule the oh-so-early wake-up call, I let them know and I was told they'd put in a work order. Fine, but that doesn't help me at all. No offer to switch rooms or any kind of compensation, but I was too tired to argue and press the issue. Finally, at 4 a.m., I noticed all kinds of little bugs in the sink and around the door (fruit flies, maybe?) and this is where I also noticed that the sink barely drained. At this point, I didn't care about anything anymore.

I will say that I wrote to Motel 6's corporate office before I even went to bed (so I didn't even get to tell them about the bugs) and I got a nice response and a free night voucher good for any location. I appreciated how they handled the situation and the quick response, and that's really the only reason I gave a two-star rating instead of one. Most of my Motel 6 experiences have been much better than this one, as I know to expect minimal amenities and frills. But I do also expect a clean room and working showers, so I'd avoid this place if you have other options available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CosmoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
5
14
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location is very sketchy, homeless people all over. The rooms were so dirty. I was forced to stay my entire 2 nights for lack of availability elsewhere otherwise I would have left. . I had to clean my own floors!!! Hairs and crumbs everywhere!!!

My non smoking room had burn holes in the blankets and everything smelled like smoke.

You get what you pay for here. This place is a dump, choose another motel.

Room Tip: Very small parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRBGRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Hemet, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

First of all I never write reviews. I flew into Austin from California and needed a room for the night. I checked with priceline. It seemed like a reasonable deal. I have stayed at several Motel 6 before. When I arrived I already had a very bad feeling. This motel is very sketchy and scary. I didn't feel safe staying there by myself at all. Even though I had already paid for the room online I decided not to stay. I felt that bad about the area. I wish I would have read reviews before booking. It would have saved me $55. Lesson learned. I hope I can help someone else not make the same mistake.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I were in town for the March Madness games at UT. The location of the hotel is a little confusing for out-of-towners when approaching from the south (you have to go past the hotel and back around, 35 is quite the freeway) but once you get used to it, it's no problem. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner because all you get is a bar of soap. It's a very clean and inexpensive place to stay with no frills. Contrary to some other reviewers, I felt very safe during our five day stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmumper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We ended planning a trip to Austin during SXSW like fools and the only hotel that we could find online that wasn't $500 a night was this Motel 6. After reading the reviews, I thought that the place would be okay but I will warn you right now... This place is AWFUL. When we arrived, there were homeless people loitering the property and over-flowing trash cans by the doors. When we walked into our room, it smelled like someone had been smoking in it for years. No amount of air freshener can get that smell out. There were cigarette burns all over the comforters. I would even question how clean the sheets and pillows were, as they were discolored with stains on them. There was only one towel in the bathroom and stains streaking the bathroom wall. I wouldn't even take a shower in this place. I was so traumatized by how awful this place was that I screamed to my companion, "OMG, there is blood on the floor!" but I am pretty sure it was just red paint. Oddly enough there is nothing in the room painted red. This place is incredibly disgusting. It is NOT clean AT ALL. I would not even let my dog stay there. We were told by locals that this Motel 6 is located in the worst part of town and is known to rent the rooms by half-the-hour to prostitutes and drug users. I do want to say that, yes this place was remodeled, but that was quite awhile ago as the "newness" has definitely worn off. The only nice thing in that room was the bathroom sink. If you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep, forget about it. The beds are cheap mattresses on a formica slab. The only reason I am giving this place a 2 instead of a 1 is bc the front desk clerks were so incredibly kind and gave us a full refund. By the grace of God, we found a room at the Hampton Inn by the Arboretum (which is a very nice hotel).

Room Tip: The tip is to not book this place period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morenike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City IA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This Motel 6 was clean, convenient and safe. The front desk clerks were helpful, efficient and friendly. I requested a different room because I didn't like the location of the one first given to me; the clerk accomodated me immediately without a hassle. There is an area (long and semi-narrow strips) on the west and north sides that are perfect for dog walking. The rooms are remodeled and clean; The location of the motel is convenient to downtown Austin; it is still a little drive from the north and traffic can be heavy. There are no restaurants or stores or other conviences in the immeidate area. At night there was some coming and going so I would use caution. I did encouter a few random people that were eerie (Austin in general seems to have a huge transient population owing to it's warm winter climate) This didn't affect my sleep or feeling of safety.

Room Tip: I would request a room in the back on the west side for the quiet. Also if you have a dog this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRW5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Motel 6 generally are just average, but the reno helped to elevate the rating on this one. The room was very clean and fresh smelling. Large flat screen TV and sleeker furniture made the room seem larger. On-site security.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#149 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Austin North
Clarion Inn Austin North
#141 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#125 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#160 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge North Austin
Econo Lodge North Austin
#143 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Austin Central - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - North

Property: Motel 6 Austin Central - North
Address: 8010 N. Interstate 35, I-35 at Exits #240-A/241, Austin, TX 78753
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - North 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - North Hotel Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six
Motel Six Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing