We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO... Just NO. Turn around! Do not enter this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Austin Central - North
Ranked #150 of 202 Hotels in Austin
College Station, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NO... Just NO. Turn around! Do not enter this place!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We ended planning a trip to Austin during SXSW like fools and the only hotel that we could find online that wasn't $500 a night was this Motel 6. After reading the reviews, I thought that the place would be okay but I will warn you right now... This place is AWFUL. When we arrived, there were homeless people loitering the property and over-flowing trash cans by the doors. When we walked into our room, it smelled like someone had been smoking in it for years. No amount of air freshener can get that smell out. There were cigarette burns all over the comforters. I would even question how clean the sheets and pillows were, as they were discolored with stains on them. There was only one towel in the bathroom and stains streaking the bathroom wall. I wouldn't even take a shower in this place. I was so traumatized by how awful this place was that I screamed to my companion, "OMG, there is blood on the floor!" but I am pretty sure it was just red paint. Oddly enough there is nothing in the room painted red. This place is incredibly disgusting. It is NOT clean AT ALL. I would not even let my dog stay there. We were told by locals that this Motel 6 is located in the worst part of town and is known to rent the rooms by half-the-hour to prostitutes and drug users. I do want to say that, yes this place was remodeled, but that was quite awhile ago as the "newness" has definitely worn off. The only nice thing in that room was the bathroom sink. If you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep, forget about it. The beds are cheap mattresses on a formica slab. The only reason I am giving this place a 2 instead of a 1 is bc the front desk clerks were so incredibly kind and gave us a full refund. By the grace of God, we found a room at the Hampton Inn by the Arboretum (which is a very nice hotel).

Room Tip: The tip is to not book this place period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morenike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    12
    9
    15
See reviews for
7
16
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City IA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This Motel 6 was clean, convenient and safe. The front desk clerks were helpful, efficient and friendly. I requested a different room because I didn't like the location of the one first given to me; the clerk accomodated me immediately without a hassle. There is an area (long and semi-narrow strips) on the west and north sides that are perfect for dog walking. The rooms are remodeled and clean; The location of the motel is convenient to downtown Austin; it is still a little drive from the north and traffic can be heavy. There are no restaurants or stores or other conviences in the immeidate area. At night there was some coming and going so I would use caution. I did encouter a few random people that were eerie (Austin in general seems to have a huge transient population owing to it's warm winter climate) This didn't affect my sleep or feeling of safety.

Room Tip: I would request a room in the back on the west side for the quiet. Also if you have a dog this area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRW5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Motel 6 generally are just average, but the reno helped to elevate the rating on this one. The room was very clean and fresh smelling. Large flat screen TV and sleeker furniture made the room seem larger. On-site security.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I came to Austin without knowing SXSW was going on. The hotel was sold out by the time we arrived.

Many of the Motel 6 hotels are undergoing renovations. This one had been recently renovated. It was very nice inside for a Motel 6. There wasn't a refrigerator, but there was a flat-screen tv on the wall. Two strange things: the sink towered about six inches over the counter. More unusual than necessarily bad.

The other was that the toilet had no lid. No way to sit down and take care of the kids in the bathtub.

The hotel had the usual Motel 6 standards: a clean room, decent beds, and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side to get away from the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Non smoking room smelled like smoke. Was ok, and staff were nice enough, but after a bit of searching found a much better deal 300 yards down the road at the motel 8. Check the coupons in the travel magazines. Can find it at the Austin Tourist Info centre downtown.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieManinMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

San Angelo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I booked because of the renovated rooms, a 32inch flatscreen wall mounted, new black marble sink wich elevated face bowl. New towel holders New pedal style beds, that you can see under. Motel 6 went with the less is more and it works. The removed the carpeting. Good move, why? Ever spent time wondering if the carpets been cleaned? No more food stains, unrine stays and whatever. They have laminated "hardwood" floors. And you know without a doubt the floors are clean. The beds were okay, if they replace them with a low cost visco foam bed it would be great. Same old bulk sheets that were clean. THe towels are typical. Hot water was abundant. No microwave or small fridge, stay at Studio 6 if you want that. Overall i enjoyed the stay it was simple, no frills and inexpensive. It was clean and gives you that peace of mind about the cleanliness. I like the way the rooms looks and i dont mind bare floors. I stayed 2 nights and it was quiet. Its very close to food establishments and Walmart is on the other side of I-35, and hwy 183 is at the corner.

Room Tip: If you need drawers for clothes, ask for a room that has them. Mine didnt but i travel light anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Flat screen TV. Non smoking rooms do not smell on cigs nor does the linen. No breakfast and WI-FI is not free. Worth the money

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak7sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#134 of 202 in Austin
163 reviews
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#149 of 202 in Austin
139 reviews
Clarion Inn Austin North
#159 of 202 in Austin
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 202 in Austin
168 reviews
St. Johns
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#145 of 202 in Austin
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Austin Central - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - North

Property: Motel 6 Austin Central - North
Address: 8010 N Interstate 35, I-35 at Exits #240-A/241, Austin, TX 78753-6524
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - North 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - North Hotel Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six
Motel Six Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing