We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, bad area, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Austin North
Ranked #173 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, bad area, good staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The good: The staff was very friendly and accommodating, despite the shortcomings of the property. It was relatively close to the place I was visiting. It was quiet and I felt the beds were comfortable. The shower was hot and the room was clean. There was a police officer stationed at the one entrance which was kept open after about 10:00 at night, (which did make me feel safer).

The bad: No shampoo or refrigerator in the room. No light bulbs in the lights between the beds and the knob to turn them on was not there and only one full size towel in the bathroom. The staff quickly rectified that situation, except for the knob on the light, but to be fair, my husband said he could turn it on/off without it. Property definitely located in a questionable neighborhood. There were announcements made periodically informing people to leave the property if they weren't staying there. Quite a lot of foot traffic through the parking lot and into a wooded area at the rear of the lot. The office had the windows broken out and caution tape crisscrossed over it. It was slightly unsettling. The police presence was comforting, but it would have been better if it had not been so obviously needed. Overall, for the price we paid, not worth it. I have stayed at Motel 6 in the past and have always been pretty happy with it. Can't really say the same with this one, but really only because of the shady characters wandering about. The price of the room was exorbitant, but probably was so, because it was graduation weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    11
    7
    16
See reviews for
9
7
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The good: The room was nice. Simple and clean. The service was wonderful - very responsive, and they gave me a full refund when I checked out a day early.

The bad: Really sketchy area, noise all night long. The reviews don't exaggerate. We saw dog fighting out back, and woke up at 4am to a megaphone commanding people to leave the premises.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I booked this thinking I was saving money, ended up feeling so unsafe I checked out immediately and got another hotel room for the weekend. It's in a really sketchy neighborhood, the rooms are cheap and falling to pieces. The bed was like something you'd think belong in a prison and there was one ratty, purple towel for the bathroom. If you wanted the blowdryer or iron you had to leave your ID at the front desk...Ick.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EWOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Let's just say this area of Austin is not the best. Everything the previous reviewers have said is true. Security guard, suspicious characters running around all hours of the night, and plenty of noise into the morning. I would not stay here with a family for sure. Pick a different location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Gwynedd UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Out of the 18 or so hotels I stayed in this was the worst by far. This place was shady as hell. It wasn't so much the hotel it was the locals and guests. There were homeless people hanging around by the entrance which made me sit in in my car too scared to check till they went away. Theres also a security guard. He's no good as he's a skinny dude who sits in the office hiding away drinking coffee.
Check in was fine but you had a lot of guests leaning on the balconies, smoking and giving you dirty looks. It's basically like a scene from San Quentin Prison.
The rooms were fine and clean but I slept with one eye open in case some crazy burst into the room.
If you value your sanity and want a good nights sleep, pay more and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: A good room? Avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judey_Boyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Austin North, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Judey_Boyyy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I reserved a room a couple days in advance, when I arrived the parking lot was full of VERY loud people and police, there was a security guard on duty that did nothing about the noise that went on till 3am, the room floor, and towels were dirty, the floor and walls had cracks in them. I was told when i called to make the reservation that the entire hotel had Wi-Fi I had to pay $3.00 extra just to find out that it did not work, and when I got waken up at 6:30am by the loud people, I went to check out the staff at the front desk was extremely rude. Also this hotel seemed to have a lot of long term residents whom were shady characters to say the least there were drug deals and FBI vans going down in the parking lot. BY far the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in, Room was also very cramped the bed was right up against the large and old AC unit.

Room Tip: Stay Away from Any Motel 6 in Austin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed one night. It was the worst experience ever. Too many homeless people hanging around the hotel and on the intersection. Motel has a security guard what does that tell you. We were very uneasy about waking up and our vehicle note being there. I do not recommend this place for anyone especially if you have kids. Saw a hit and run in the parking lot. Got to the hotel at 3am and there were many people walking around. You can see why we felt uneasy about our vehicle not being there. On the bright side the front desk was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#135 of 203 in Austin
7 reviews
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#130 of 203 in Austin
162 reviews
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#141 of 203 in Austin
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge North Austin
#147 of 203 in Austin
323 reviews
Days Inn Austin Crossroads
#167 of 203 in Austin
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Austin North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin North

Property: Motel 6 Austin North
Address: 9420 N Interstate 35, I-35 at Rundberg Lane, Exit #241, Austin, TX 78753-3701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin North 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Austin North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Austin
Motel 6 Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing