We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport
Ranked #120 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed October 24, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Austin, we have stayed at other Holiday Inn Hotels and usually we have a good experience overall. This time, the staff was friendly, the room was of good size, it had a sink, fridge, coffee maker, microwave oven, clean towels, clean sheets, the FIRST BIG problem was that the rug was nasty, full of stains and it looked like it had not been vacuumed in a long time, we found a dead cricket under the desk and the next day after the maid went to clean the room, the dead cricket was still there. The SECOND problem was that the room was FULL of tiny little ants, everywhere!!! over the nightstand, the walls, the rug, over the coffee table, etc.
We looked for the "customer satisfaction survey" that they place usually between the papers they leave in the room and it had a piece of chocolate stuck in the back.
I won't reccomend this hotel until they hire better maids and they get rid of the ants.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank catibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2006

The room is quite new and nice, sort of a mini-suite, with a fridge/microwave/sink and a small kitchen table. There is a work area next to that, with enough desk space for a laptop and free wi-fi. I was with a group of business travelers and nobody had any problems with connectivity.

Only major complaint about the room was the air conditioner: incredibly noisy. We all had to turn it off at night.

Service is friendly but a bit inattentive - they seem to wander off leaving the front desk unstaffed most of the day.

Location is far away from anything interesting, so business travelers have no choice but to focus on their work.

Breakfast is normal for middle America, but too sweet for coastal/urban types - sticky danishes and rolls so loaded with sugar just one would upset your stomach. The brochure said "danish and fruit breakfast" so we were expecting the usual melon/pineapple/strawberries/grapes fruit plates, but it really means "your choice of apple or banana". There is a Denny's next door where some of us went instead. For after-conference socializing, the Comfort Suites next door has a bar/lounge, and the pool area is open until 10 pm.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank silicon-valley-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Wonderful Hotel !!!
Has been several years since I stayed at a Holiday Inn property.

Hotel is completely nonsmoking,A huge plus for us non smokers,in the past even though you get assigned a nonsmoking room often times the smoke from the floor below or down the hall will permeate your non smoking room and make your stay not appealing at all.

Mattresses were the best ever,actually as good or better than the "HEAVENLY BED" Westin offers.Hotel exceptionally well maintained.Good breakfast to get you started.Toiletries were actually superior to some upper scale hotels I have stayed at,after hearing that Holiday Inn will be marketing their toiletries I thought "super". Decor throughout the hotel was well placed and thoughtout.

Staff was superb, "Benjamin" made my stay great,very attentive,informative and able to multitask,Benjamin is invaluable to this facility.

I was on business travel and have stayed their in the past for several years when it was an AmeriSuite,but the upgrade(mind you not a makeover) was beyond my expectations.

In addition have you ever slept in a room that smelled stale?
Every room was equipped with a hunter air purifier(SUPRISE).
Someone has put a lot of thought into what travelers are really wanting,the basic creature comforts of home.

Can't say enough things about this wonderful hotel.

Benjamin once again was outstanding.

The only problem with this hotel was they have raised the bar in the hospitality industry where staying anywhere else without the same amenities will not be acceptable !!!

What Are You Waiting For!!!

Come on in.

5  Thank cgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

This Holiday Inn Express just changed from an Amerisuites the week before my stay. The layout of the hotel is therefore identical to the standard efficient Amerisuites hotels (rooms with a half wall separating the living room/ kitchenette from the bedroom/vanity with a television visible from both). Being a Holiday Inn Express now, there were some nice new touches such as higher quality coffee packets and better bathroom features such as softer towels and a better shower head. The cinnamon rolls on the breakfast buffet were also pretty good.

On the negative side though, the bed was full of springs and very uncomfortable. Strangely, our non-smoking room ( a must for those of us with allergies and asthma) was filled with the overwhelming odor of potpourri and one of those plugged in air freshners! An inoic breeze machine was located in the living room- something I've never seen in a hotel room. While I would welcome the air purifier, the overwhelming smell of the other two freshners was unpleasant forcing us to hide them in the cabinet. Our family wondered what evil thing occured before our stay to prompt such obvious cover-up attempts! We think that the hotel's former life as a Amerisuites (where some rooms were smoking) caused some desperate attempts to rid smoke smells in this now all non-smoking Holiday Inn Express. Those offended by strong odors or plagued with breathing issues may want to be weary!

Also, the hot water flucuated to cold and made for a poor showering experience. The front desk was notified of this but seemed not to care- poor customer care in my book!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2005

My husband and I stayed here the night before flying from the airport. The room was wonderful, the staff very courteous and they provide a free shuttle to the airport. The breakfast was well appointed. A computer is available in the lobby area for guests to use. We were able to get a room for $70 by calling the hotel direct and asking for the best price. This room was definitely a bargain and not what you would expect for this price.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yellowjacket987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2005

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here in January 2005, and loved it!
It was fantastic value for money. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very clean and well appointed with a kitchenette, desk, and complimentary bottles of water and snacks. Internet access was free in a room near reception, and the free hot breakfast was full of variety.
Although there are no restaurants within walking distance, it is only a few minutes drive to the Austin airport.
We would thoroughly recommend this accomodation!

3  Thank Warneringyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toledo, OH
16
Reviewed November 11, 2004

We discovered this warm and cheerful hotel on our way through Texas in November of 2004. We were so taken with the staff, well appointed guest suites and amenities of the hotel we made sure to stop back on our way home. Complementary high-speed internet, warm staff, hot breakfast, and hi-thread count sheets make this hotel a topper on our list. The hotel seemed to be of new construction, we enjoyed the jaccuzzi, and putting green. We couldn't beat the price, when we factored in the price of staying downtown, where you pay extra for noise from bars and extra for breakfast and parking. Free breakfast, Free parking and only a short ten minute drive to downtown I'll never shell out 200.00 for a room in Austin again. If you're traveling to the area be sure to make a reservation and get more out of your dollar and stay in Austin. We're flying to Austin in January and plan to stay at our new favorite, when making the reservation the desk staff recommended a local car rental agent, and notified us of the free shuttle service available to and from the Airport. Happy Traveling!!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#59 of 203 in Austin
530 reviews
Hilton Austin Airport
#62 of 203 in Austin
1,132 reviews
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport

Address: 7601 E Ben White Blvd, Austin, TX 78741-6819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $109 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in Austin for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport offers all the comforts and conveniences you expect. We are centrally located near Austin-Bergstrom International Airport downtown Austin, Austin Convention Center, and the University of Texas. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is perfect choice for the business traveler. We offer free high-speed (wired & wireless) fiber Internet service, a business center, fitness center, and outdoor pool and hot tub. Take advantage of our 'Park & Fly' program and eliminate worries of high airport parking rates. We offer daily complimentary airport shuttle service 24 hours a day . Don't forget our complimentary freshly prepared breakfast buffet, including variety of hot items like bacon, sausage, omelets, scramble eggs, pancakes and biscuits & gravy as well lighter items such as oatmeal yogurt, and pastries. Visit Austin, Texas and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing