We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happening place with good live music”
Review of The Stage on Sixth

The Stage on Sixth
Ranked #97 of 195 Nightlife in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Stage on Sixth is Austin's most Rockin' country bar, and the only place on 6th Street to see live country music all night, every night. With 3 bars, a large dance floor and a huge patio/smoking area, there's room for every party at The Stage!
Kolkata
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Happening place with good live music”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We dropped in to The Stage on Sixth on a Friday night and stayed there for more than 2 hours as the music was pretty good. Overall good value for money as the drinks aren't expensive and the atmosphere is electric.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tapadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great music, not to crowed.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went Friday night and got country music, went Saturday got 80s. Had so much fun and didn't have to deal with 100s of crunch college kids. Will come back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SSHotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to hear live music.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I had been to The Stage in Nashville, TN so I was hoping this would be similar and it did not disappoint! The live music by Jake Kellen was fantastic! The crowd was a little too laid back for my taste but the place was awesome!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank deb8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome live music during the Pecan Street Festival”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were at the Stage during the Pecan Street Festival and the bands were great. We were surprised by how few of the bars on 6th took this great festival as an excuse to get some live music going earlier in the day, given the thousands of people around - the Stage was an exception and we spent a good few hours knocking back the beer and listening to really high quality music here - culminating in a brill rendition of Sweet Home Alabama (OK, OK, wrong state, but a classic, so it can be forgiven!). We even went home with T-shirts!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Arizona
Level Contributor
298 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Impressive Music, Friendly Bartenders & Fun out Back”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The quality of performers on the night we were there was super impressive! We had a blast dancing, enjoying the great music & enjoying drinks. It was just a fun place to hang out. The back had corn hole set up to play & was a great mid evening activity for our group. I know it is advertised as "country" but they played much more than typical country- again we were all impressed!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stage on Sixth also viewed

 

Been to The Stage on Sixth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing