We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“South Austin hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Austin South
Ranked #79 of 200 Hotels in Austin
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“South Austin hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

For traveling on business, this is a great hotel; not too expensive; staff is accommodating; breakfast offerings are good and hot dishes change every day. Easy access; rooms are comfortable, as are the beds, and they have feather pillows which is a plus for me. Coffee is very good too. Small kitchen area in the rooms and free Wi-Fi are also nice.

Green Features: appreciated the opportunity to "pass" on having sheets and towels changed every day.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no_label
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina G, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for you great review! We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and rooms. We look forward to having you here again soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    90
    42
    24
    11
See reviews for
67
42
11
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've stayed at amenities-wise that is reasonable. The breakfast was loaded with scrambled eggs, sausage patties, oatmeal, cold cereals, waffles, coffee, and juice. Staff was awesome to boot! This place is a must stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Manny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My room (605) was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and restaurant information. The room had two queens and was spacious. There was a ceiling fan in the area with the desk and microwave/fridge which was a nice touch. The hotel was very quiet. The breakfast is great--they have a wafflemaker that makes waffles shaped like Texas, along with rotating items like eggs, sausage, etc. Also cold cheese and meats, plus all the usual cereal, yogurt, and oatmeal products. The location is not far from downtown Austin, yet also in the middle of an office park with not much within walking distance. I didn't have a car, so I took the bus to get where I needed to go, which worked great. There is also a shuttle shared with all the other Marriott hotels nearby but I never took it, so I can't speak to its efficiency. The Vietnamese restaurant next door is pretty affordable and tasty, if you want to stay nearby in the evening. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such great feedback on your breakfast and hotel experience. We are glad that our staff was helpful with directions and your other needs. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is grouped amongst 5 Marriott hotels, which can be a little confusing when you first arrive. Each hotel is clearly marked though! I was very impressed with the SpringHill; the hotel doesn't look dated, and the staff was very welcoming.

We were provided a "hot tub" room (which we never used), although it was placed right next to the elevator. At the same time I never heard it once - the bed is set back from the wall adjoining it. The room itself was very long, although still spacious, with a fridge and microwave provided. It was a very comfortable location, as well as clean - we arrived late and left early, so on this stay we didn't get to use the breakfast room or facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your room and found it comfortable. We hope to have you back soon when you can enjoy our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Our room, 501, was in great shape and I felt the hotel was maintained very well. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Friendly prompt service. Breakfast was quite good with everything we could want. As our granddaughter is beginning first year, we will likely stay here many times in the future. Room was clean and comfortable. A very good value in terms of comfort, cleanliness, attractiveness, location, and sense of being welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLov2Travel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites Austin South. We appreciate you taking time to write us a pleasant review on our staff and breakfast. The next time you come to Austin we would love have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

In all honesty this hotel needs a renovation or makeover but the staff kept things tidy with a few issues here or there like I only got conditioner every day housekeeping cleaned my room.
However, my favorite thing about this hotel was the African American lady (I can't remember her name but she told us she was a manager) in the lobby! She isn't actually the concierge but I kept calling her that because she had all of the information, directions, and just everything we needed and wanted in a small hotel. I loved her and I actually felt so bad because she seemed to know everyone's name. Bye Mr this and Hello Mrs that....!


I was there with some friends for a weekend trip to Texas and we had so much fun thanks to her and the other staff was quite nice as well but that lady really made our trip a great one!

Tell her thanks from Christine and friends!

Green Features: paper plates and plastic everything isn't green at all!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Christine, Thank you so much for your time taken to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that your stay was plesant. Im glad Tanya was able to give you information and directions around Austin. Im so sorry to hear that you had some issues with housekeeping. I will inform our housekeeping supervisor immediately. We hope the next time your in Austin you chose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Drum, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location is great, 5 miles from downtown but also southern Austin to allow a quick drive south to attractions down the 35 such as Cabela's and Buck-ees. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but most noticeable is the quality of the staff. Due to work, I stayed here over 3 months and the staff took notable care to make my home away from home comfortable. Tonya Dillard often serves at the check-in counter and is the kind of person I would want representing my business to the world. She is pleasant, knowledgeable, knows the names of guests and is always ready to help with any question. I hope Marriott keeps her around, she represents them well.

Room Tip: As far as parking, be careful not to park under trees. Black birds, grackels, will place quite a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such pleasant feedback about your stay. We are so excited to hear that your enjoyed your long term stay. Im glad our staff, especially Tanya, were able to go above and beyond for you. Thank you again for staying with the Springhill Suites and hope you come back the next time you are in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#107 of 200 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin Marriott South
#48 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Property: SpringHill Suites Austin South
Address: 4501 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South has been renovated! Located just off IH-35 and 8 miles from AUS Airport, our south Austin hotel features renovated suites with microwaves, mini-fridges and 25% more space than traditional Austin Airport hotel rooms. Just six miles from downtown Austin, we offer a free evening shuttle to 6th Street, the convention center and UT Austin. Guests love our free amenities including hot breakfast, WiFi, parking and indoor pool and 24-hour gym. Choose the newly-renovate SpringHill Suites Austin South and you'll see why we're a top choice among Austin Airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing