We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Marriott, convenient to Austin airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austin Marriott South
Ranked #19 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friendly staff, rooms were nicely finished. Beautiful bathroom. Drinks in the bar were good and reasonably priced. Purchased the breakfast buffet, omelet to order was good. Concierge lounge not open the hours we were in the hotel and they didn't offer breakfast on the weekends. No view from any room (we had one room facing the freeway, the other facing the opposite direction), sits right next to the freeway without any type of courtyard or garden area. In a line-up of other Marriott properties. Free parking.

Room Tip: Room facing the freeway was noisy. I stayed in a room facing the other direction and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Austin Marriott South and that you found our staff to be friendly. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Austin Marriott South
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 493 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Difficult to get to the first time but easy access to south Austin. The hotel lobby is nice but it just feels a bit dated. The rooms were fine but nothing to really cheer about. The concierge room was supposed to be open to 10:30 but there was nothing out at about 10pm. Okay stay

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank PorscheBoxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us constructive feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty locating the hotel, in the future please do not hesitate to give us a call and we will be more than happy to assist you with directions. We apologize about the confusion of the concierge lounge hours, we will be certain to inform all guests of the correct hours. We again apologize for the inconvenience and welcome you back to the Austin Marriott South next time you travel to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Everyone is very friendly and make you feel right at home. We had a Quincenera to attend at this Hotel and the banquets crew really did their best effort to put together the room. All the details were just perfect. i loved how the room turned out. The staff was always there to assist us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave us a positive review. We are happy to hear you had a great time at the Quincenera that you attended at the Austin Marriott South and that you found the staff very helpful. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. Clean lobby rooms and dining area. The food was also very good.
This hotel is a category 5, the hotels next door are 4's and you can see why.
Staff were ALL courteous. "Can I help you" at every turn, actually say hello in the hall instead of putting their heads down. I felt very welcome.
We brought a 1 yr old, the basic King had space for the packnplay. Fridge was perfect for milk and leftovers.
Very happy with pick if this hotel. Would recommend to any other fellow traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roundtheworld101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with such positive feedback on our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had an exceptional experience and that are staff was able to accommodate your needs. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Austin Marriott South and look forward to you staying with us next time you visit Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My son was getting married in Austin and had arranged for all attendees to stay at this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff who treated us like we were VIPs. The lobby was very well done with comfortable couches and a huge fireplace, which we had no need of in 96 degree temperatures, and a wonderful bar and lounge for those after dinner drinks.
Our room was a good size, the bed was extremely comfortable and we even got our own small refrigerator. When we requested a roll-away for my grandson they quickly brought one to the room. And it wasn't just a cot with a thin mattress but a twin-sized comfortable bed!
One of the nicest amenities has to be their shuttle service. They brought us into town and back several times and were even going to drive us to the airport on departure but they couldn't make it back on time. And they did it all with a smile and friendly inquiries into how our day was and, of course, how the wedding went.
I would give the staff there 5 stars and would have rated the hotel 4.5 stars if their only pool hadn't been situated indoors.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the noise of the highway. Ours was on the third floor towards the back and...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda-Vacationplanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We are glad to hear that you and your wedding party enjoyed your stay at the Austin Marriott South. We are pleased to receive the positive feedback on our friendly and accommodating staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel had highs and lows. The lows were extremely slow service in lobby restaurant & bar, housekeeping only came to clean room once out of 4 days, pool closed during 1/2 our stay, and no vending in the ice/vending room on each floor. Pros-there were 2 really nice front desk staff members who helped us when our son got his hand stuck in the elevator door and we had one great banquet server for our rehearsal dinner. The team here far outweighs the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your honest and constructive review. We really appreciate your comments, because it is through these reviews that we can meet our challenges head on. We will look into the issues that you have outlined, meet with our department managers and reinforce our company policies that center on 'positive guest satisfaction.' We apologize for the problem you encountered throughout your stay but hope that we can welcome you again to Austin Marriott South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Like all the Marriott Hotels I have stayed at they have a great level of quality that I know that I can depend on. It was right off the Highway and we were able to get to everything we needed to quickly. The beds and rooms were clean and comfortable. I can not rate them any higher because they have not updated the Hotel like a lot of others have done in the Marriott chain. It was good for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curt1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write an elaborate review and we are delighted to hear that you had an overall great stay. We love that our location was very convenient for you throughout your stay and found our beds to be super comfortable. We take pride in our mission statement, to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel. Please come back and see us again soon and thank you again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#63 of 201 in Austin
172 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Marriott South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott South

Address: 4415 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Austin
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
#51 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $138 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Austin Marriott South sits just a short drive from the State Capitol, Austin’s exciting live-music scene on 6th Street, and Downtown Austin attractions. Our hotel in South Austin is perfect for business and leisure travelers who want to be close to it all. We offer guest rooms that feature a refrigerator, high-speed Internet Access, flat screen TVs, and luxury bedding. Austin Marriott South offers complimentary parking and features an on-site restaurant, the Limestone Lounge & Kitchen. Guests enjoy the convenience of being able to work out in our fitness room or take a dip in our indoor pool. We welcome you to stay with us at our comfortable and stylish hotel in South Austin, and to have everything you need for a wonderful stay in Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austin Marriott South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott South Hotel Austin
Marriott Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing