We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New to Austin? Start here.”
Review of AO Tours Austin

AO Tours Austin
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Austin and Texas Hill Country
Ranked #21 of 92 Tours in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: AO Tours (Austin Overtures Sightseeing) Provides Tour Service - 22 times per week - Our signature tour "Austin + Hill Country in 90 Minutes" presents a showcase of the spectacular Austin urban scene,which highlights its unique and popular shopping districts, live music scene, rich history, outdoor life-style, local arts, culture, and a peek at the Hill Country's vistas and lakes.
Charles Town, West Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New to Austin? Start here.”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

This tour will allow you become familiar with the city of Austin and the things to see and do. It does not stop but we were still able to take pictures. It gave us an idea of what we wanted to do while in town. Great tour guide and very knowledgeable mixed in with recorded segments. Luxury Mercedes Sprinter van with plenty of room. Worth the price which was very reasonable. East, West and downtown, the tour covers plenty of ground in 90 minutes.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, General Manager at AO Tours Austin, responded to this review, February 10, 2017
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent overview and guide to planning the rest of your visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour thanks to our knowledge and personable guide. Be clear that this is not a tour that drives you to sites for exploring or taking pictures, it is a driving overview that introduces you to the main sights of the area. Do it at the beginning of a visit to Austin to help you decide what sites merit a more in-depth visit.

Bottom line, the van was comfy, the guide was superb, the price is good.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, General Manager at AO Tours Austin, responded to this review, February 10, 2017
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

We took the 90-minute austin city tour with AO tours. Our guide was excellent gave a detailed description of the sites in Austin and showed us a good overview of the city including the Hill Country. I would highly recommend tour to anyone! Provides a good overview of this city and would be a great way to start your vacation in Austin!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank ksura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, General Manager at AO Tours Austin, responded to this review, January 3, 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed the tour. Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We always enjoy hearing about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love a good tour”
Reviewed November 27, 2016

When you're in a new city, what do you do? Take a tour! This tour lasted about 90 minutes and went all throughout downtown and south Austin. It was so cool to learn about the culture of the city and the every changing atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Next time, I'm going to go on the double decker one. Plus, this tour gives you a luggage tag that you can use to get discounts at restaurants and stores! What?! yes please!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, General Manager at AO Tours Austin, responded to this review, November 29, 2016
Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guide!”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

We haven't visited Austin in well over ten years. The tour itself was very detailed and informative. Learning more about Austin and its history was worth the money. The tour guide, John, was comical, extremely skilled and knowledgeable and really seemed to care about his passengers.

The tour van was fairly comfortable, but quite confined. It wasn't something designed for the claustrophobic.

I would recommend this Tour, especially for the costs.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank ToddHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, General Manager at AO Tours Austin, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
Thank you! We sincerely appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AO Tours Austin also viewed

 

Been to AO Tours Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing