We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait - Unique & Creative”
Review of Hopdoddy

Hopdoddy
Ranked #13 of 3,754 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Pike Road, AL
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait - Unique & Creative”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

You will wait - on a Monday afternoon at 2:00, we waited about 45 min, but inside the whole time. You stand alongside a bar most of your wait, so you can order drinks. They have free water (infused with cucumber, lemons, and limes) along the way. They offer to order a milkshake while you wait, and they bring around samples of things. It is loud.

The menu is eclectic and creative - our family ordered different burgers. It is all fresh, tasty, and very well made. They grind the beef on site and you can observe this while waiting. Buns are made there, too. Was very excited about the drinks - they are not the mainstream sodas, but local-made and taste so much better. Tea is fresh brewed but not the best I've had.

The burgers are very good but not "the best". Well made, the meat itself lacks some flavor. Texture is excellent (small grind) but we prefer our burgers marinated so there is flavor in the meat. The parmesan fries with truffle aioli sauce are amazing. Overall an excellent meal with a very cool experience. Just be prepared for a wait, or attempt a time the line is shorter.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldendiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    974
    404
    102
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Horrible wait, fantastic food, gluten free heaven”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The queue was well over an hour and a half and even though they were taking drinks orders our children asked for water and we were told that would come automatically - it didn't and frankly given the soaring temperatures they should have made that a priority. Once inside the noise is pretty deafening so not a venue for a quite chat but , the burgers were amongst the best we've ever had and the staff were fully versed in gluten free options which delighted our coeliac daughter - would absolutely visit again for the food but put off by the queuing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

If you're willing to stand in a line that at times, wraps around the building, then look no further. Seriously one of the best burgers you will ever eat! The meat is ground on the premises and the buns are made from scratch twice daily! The variety ranges from a classic hamburger to my favorite - grilled mushrooms feta cheese with pesto. This is a must "go-to" restaurant while in Austin and the wait is just as much of the experience as actually sitting in the dining room.

Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon treat”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Recommended by our Son, who lives and works in Austin...and as we understood, wait time would be 'long'...the food was worth waiting for! Appreciated that our parking choice, included 'validation' for free parking, while eating there. Patrons and staff were friendly and 'fun loving'...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 686idag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good salad, burger does not justify the long wait”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Yes, two hours of standing there waiting in line. Burger was good, but I have same juicy tasty burger in my hometown restaurant with no wait time, good service, nice and quiet, and cheaper even including tips. I am a visitor from elsewhere only there to visit my relatives. what a waste of time to wait there. The salad is good and distinctive though. People likes to know where the ingredients come from and this is exactly what they do: A big board listing all the farms's name. One of the selling point. But this still did not justify the long wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank veryyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopdoddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing