We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hopdoddy

Hopdoddy
Ranked #15 of 3,700 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff!
Really enjoyed our evening at HopDoddy, left with really full bellys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    393
    100
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
237 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Doesn't Live Up To The Hype”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Okay, here's the good things:

1. The burgers and fries were good--not spectacular, just good.

Here's why I won't go back:

1. While waiting in line adjacent to the cocktail bar, I watched a bartender raise her foot and rest the bottom of her dirty shoe on the sink where glasses were being washed so that she could show a patron her tattoo. After contaminating the sink, no effort was made to sanitize the area and another bartender used the sink after the first one had moved on. This is a blatant violation of food safety standards. I work in a food production environment, and I was really disgusted by this Hopdoddy staff member's disregard for potential food safety hazards with a large audience of diners looking on.

2. I ordered a Llano Poblano burger. As I mentioned previously, it was good. However, a better-crafted burger with the same ingredients exists at Roaring Fork downtown. It's called the Big A$$ Burger, it's tastier, and served in a quieter place with better ambiance where guests don't wait outside in a 45 minute line when it's 103 degrees.

3. On this particular Friday night, it was so loud that conversation among friends was close to impossible.

4. Three out of four of us at the table had our burgers overcooked (the fourth in our group ordered his cremated, so his was fine), and if you've read other reviewers' comments then you know this is a common occurrence. Why does Hopdoddy's ask how you'd like your burger cooked if they don't plan to honor your request?

5. Hopdoddy's website promotes that garage parking is free with validation. What they don't mention is that it's good only for two hours. However, since we were there on a busy Friday night and the line to get in was wrapped around the building and the wait was much longer than we'd anticipated, we didn't want to risk getting our validation rescinded.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bohemian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
152 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wow great beer and burgers and employees.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Walked over a mike to eat hear based on reviews. They delivered. Amazing burgers, awesome fries with great beer and super friendly employees. So glad we stopped here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny-O_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Locally sourced ingredients, great burger options and GREAT TASTING! Definitely worth the wait. Went at 10pm and still waited 20 minutes but was worth every minute of wait.... I also like the fact that they have a designated seating place for you once you get your order in so no "fighting" for a table.

Definitely recommend and DEFINITELY will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
474 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“new concept, really good!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had walked by the place a few times, and it looked more like abar than a restaurant. We finally went in, and it was a pretty nice surprise. The kids LOVED IT. The restaurant works ina different way than other places.
The food was really good. The arugula salad was amazing, the burgers of course and i loved the sauces: just the perfect balance between sweet and hot....it was just nice. The waiters are really nice and very accomodating. Portions are not small, but they are not as huge as other places, so you can have a nice meal withoutvover doing it.
We are definately going back to this one!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopdoddy also viewed

 

Been to Hopdoddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing