We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“noisy but delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hopdoddy

Hopdoddy
Ranked #15 of 3,683 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“noisy but delicious”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were told this was a place to go. Parked in the lot in the back. The parking is free for 2 hours if you get your ticket stamped in the resteraunt. The burgers were great. They make their bread, cut there own fries, grind the meat. Kind of fun. Expect a wait. We waited an hour. They have umbrellas if you are in the hot sun. The burgers come with no fries, you have to order them on the side. The burger we ordered was about 8.50 each, shakes (homemade) were 5.50. The burgers were very juicy and you can upgrade to grass fed beef for 2.00. They also have bison.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    387
    100
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hopdaddy=Heaven!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went and we fell in love with the place, it has a great atmosphere and AMAZING food! The burgers are great and they are so fresh! We also had the truffle fries well I say the least I crave them now. They have a great bar selection also, I had the white sustainable wine which was great! I recommend this place to anyone and everyone

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krystalyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers, drinks, and sides. Loud atmosphere”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I came here with friends in May. We waited outside in a line for about 20 minutes before being seated. There is no room inside for the line. A Hopdoddy's server was outside with plastic cups and ice water- giving complimentary ice water to those of us in line. That was thoughtful.

When you finally make it inside the restaurant, you are led to the bar where you can order alcoholic drinks. Then the line continues to the burger and sides area. You give your order, pick out soft drinks, pay, and then are seated. We sat at high stools and a high table near the bar. A server brought the food to us.

My friend and I split a Magic Shroom Burger ($8.50), a Spinach and Arugula Salad ($9.00) and Truffle Fries ($6.00)--It was all fantastic. And it was the perfect amount of food, as we were famished, and splitting allowed us to try a variety without getting stuffed.

The noise level is defintely high-at least it was when we went- so don't go for a relaxing meal-go for quality food, and then get out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and shakes!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The burgers are amazing and shakes are even better. Im not normally a person that gets shakes, but these are so worth it. The salted caramel and Nutella and pretzel shake are delicious. Go early because it gets busy fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Shane's, burgers, beer”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

What's not to like? Well, points off for such a long line and expensive parking. It's SOCO, so not unusual. BURGERS we ordered: Greek lamb and Bison classic. Both tasty and juicy. Fries: not special. Tip: be sure to ask for lamb burger medium rare yummy. Atmosphere: casual and fun. Shakes: tres leches and red velvet are offered. Beer: amber was cold and good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanStormin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopdoddy also viewed

 

Been to Hopdoddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing