We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot for spicy Thai”

Mai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #220 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: May explain why it was part of a coupon program and also why it was empty. Perhaps it is new.
Austin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot for spicy Thai”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visit this spot for lunch every week or so and it never disappoints. Nothing fancy but service is quick, portions adequate and will spice to taste. Several hotels under construction in the area so visit now before all the travelers overwhelm it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmckphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    52
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great little spot for Thai & Thai beers”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were recommended this spot by concierge at the hotel. The ambiance is cute and quaint and the food was overall true Thai. Great place to catch a good Thai meal & great Thai beer!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis,
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good Thai food.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The crab fried rice was amazing. The pad Thai too! If you love Thai food and you are around the 4th street area, check it out....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank truthintraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We didn't like this Thai place.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nothing here was good. Not the service, not the food, not the price.
We love Thai food, but our evening started off badly when we waited for ten minutes for our water. There were only two other tables with people, and there were two servers. The food wasn't great. The price was too much for what we got.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank divingaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
220 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I have dined at many Thai restaurants and are generally more than pleased by them but this one stands apart from the others which I thought not possible. There was not a single thing I would change about our experience here. Within easy walking distance of the Sixth Street entertainment district in Austin, making it's location a bonus , the ambience was lovely , the service attentive , and the food...the food defies description! It's quality, the taste, it's appearance was outstanding! We had a dining certificate that allowed us to have appetizers, soups, entrees AND dessert at 1/2 price but this is one we would gladly have paid full price for . We purposely ordered dissimilar items on all courses so that we could try out more and were not disappointed by ANY! We were there on a weeknight and relatively early at that so perhaps this explains why we were the only diners for the first hour. At that point, a few more arrived and seated themselves outside. Since I had to suggest this eatery to Trip Advisor, and because of the coupon program they participated in, maybe they are a new restaurant ? Whatever the case, make this a MUST In Austin!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2011lovinitsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing